Cal State Northridge English requirements at a glance
Sources: the catalog's international student admission policy, graduate English language requirement and program pages for the MBA and MA Linguistics. The catalog points to CSUN's international admissions pages for the university-wide IELTS, Duolingo and PTE minimums, so check that table before you book. Score validity is not stated in the catalog.
| Level | IELTS Academic | TOEFL iBT | Duolingo | PTE Academic |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Graduate (university minimum) | On CSUN's international graduate page | 80 (new-scale score not stated) | Accepted; minimum on international page | Accepted; minimum on international page |
| MBA | 6.5 | 213 (computer-based, as listed) | Not listed | 58 |
| MA Linguistics | 7 | 85 | 115 | 64 |
| Undergraduate | Not stated in catalog | 61 (new-scale score not stated) | Not stated in catalog | Not stated in catalog |
Graduate: TOEFL 80, and program-level IELTS scores
Graduate and post-baccalaureate applicants whose native language is not English and whose preparation was principally in another language must show competence in English; those without a bachelor's from an institution where English is the principal language of instruction need at least TOEFL iBT 80, and some programs require more. CSUN names no countries, so India is not on any list. See the graduate English requirement. Conditional admission is not stated in the catalog.
The MS Computer Engineering page says CSUN accepts TOEFL, IELTS, Duolingo, PTE, iTEP, EIKEN, GTEC and Cambridge Advanced English, with minimums in the International Graduate Students table. Program pages set their own bars: the MBA lists IELTS 6.5 or PTE 58, the MSW requires IELTS 7.0 or TOEFL 88 with 22 per section, and MA Linguistics asks for IELTS 7, TOEFL 85, PTE 64 or Duolingo 115.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Undergraduate: TOEFL 61
Undergraduate international applicants whose native language is not English and who have not attended school at secondary level or above for at least three years full time where English is the principal language of instruction need TOEFL iBT 61 (paper 500); some majors may require more. Undergraduate IELTS, Duolingo and PTE minimums are not stated in the catalog. See the international admission policy.
Student visa and next steps
The US F-1 student visa sets no English test score of its own. What counts is the requirement Cal State Northridge sets for admission, which leads to your Form I-20. For the wider picture of studying in the US with each test, see IELTS for the USA and PTE for the USA.
Requirements change between admission cycles. Check the CSUN international admissions page again before you book a test, and check your own program page, which can set a higher bar.
Frequently asked questions
What IELTS score do I need for an MS at Cal State Northridge?+
The catalog points to a table on CSUN's International Graduate Students page for the university minimum. Programs set their own: the MBA lists 6.5, and the MSW and MA Linguistics need 7.
Does CSUN accept Duolingo and PTE?+
Yes. The catalog says CSUN accepts TOEFL, IELTS, Duolingo, PTE, iTEP, EIKEN, GTEC and Cambridge Advanced English. The MBA lists PTE 58; MA Linguistics needs PTE 64 or Duolingo 115.
What TOEFL score does CSUN need for graduate admission?+
At least 80 on the internet-based TOEFL, or 550 on paper. Some programs require more. A new-scale score is not stated in the catalog.
Can Indian students skip IELTS at CSUN?+
CSUN does not name India. Applicants with a bachelor's from an institution where English is the principal language of instruction do not need the TOEFL minimum.
What English score do CSUN undergraduates need?+
TOEFL iBT 61, unless you studied at least three years full time at secondary level or above where English was the principal language of instruction.
Keep reading
Related
- IELTS for the USA
- TOEFL to IELTS converter
- Cal State LA IELTS requirement
- San Jose State IELTS requirement
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy