CCCU's levels by test
From CCCU's English language requirements page. Non-standard postgraduate programmes, such as Psychology and Applied Linguistics, need more, yet their PTE score is printed lower than the standard one, so confirm it. Some courses ask higher still: MSc Forensic Psychology needs 7.0 with 7.0 in writing. Result validity, IELTS Online and One Skill Retake are not stated. Its pre-sessional tables give the standard target as 6.0 with 6.0 in writing.
| Test | Standard UG and PG | Professional health UG | Non-standard PG |
|---|---|---|---|
| IELTS (incl. IELTS Indicator) | 6.0, no element below 5.5 | 7.0, no element below 6.5 (nursing from 2027: 6.5, 6.5) | 6.5, no element below 6.0 |
| PTE Academic (test centre) | 59, no element below 59 | 76, no element below 76 | 56, no element below 46 |
| TOEFL iBT (from 21 January 2026; no home test) | 4, 4 in each skill | 5 overall | 5 overall |
CCCU IELTS on course pages
These course pages were read on 8 October 2026; none states a PTE score. Overseas applicants to Adult Nursing from 2027 must also attend an online interview. The Data Intelligence MSc page gives no figure and links to the requirements.
| Course | Level | IELTS |
|---|---|---|
| Computer Science BSc | Undergraduate | 6.0, no element below 5.5 |
| Adult Nursing BSc | Undergraduate | 2026/27: 7.0, no element below 6.5; 2027/28: 6.5, no element below 6.5 |
| MBA International | Postgraduate | Combined 6.0 (or equivalent) |
| Data Intelligence MSc | Postgraduate | No figure on page |
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Indian, Pakistani, Nigerian and other South Asian applicants
CCCU's India page accepts Standard XII English from CBSE, ISC and five state boards, rising 5% for each extra 0.5 IELTS. Other boards are not mentioned. It says medium of instruction certificates are not accepted and all Indian applications must go through an agent.
The Pakistan page asks for IELTS 6.0 with 6.0 in writing, and the Nigeria page 6.0 with 5.5 in writing for undergraduates and 6.5 with 6.0 for postgraduates; both accept IGCSE English at C. School-English waivers for Pakistan, Nigeria, Nepal and Bangladesh are not stated by CCCU.
| Qualification | IELTS 6.0 courses | IELTS 6.5 courses |
|---|---|---|
| Standard XII English, CBSE or ISC | 65% | 70% |
| Standard XII English: Maharashtra, West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Karnataka, Kerala | 70% | 75% |
| Medium of instruction certificate (India) | Not accepted | Not accepted |
Pre-CAS interviews, deposit, pre-sessional and the Student visa
CCCU's CAS guide says you must pass a pre-CAS interview on Microsoft Teams if invited and pay a deposit of your first year's fees, with the amount emailed to you. It adds that if you fail the interview you can apply again for the following academic year. Who is invited is not stated.
CCCU's pre-sessional course runs in person for 10 weeks (28 June to 3 September 2027, £4,280, from IELTS 5.0 with 4.5) or 6 weeks (26 July to 3 September 2027, £2,575, from 5.5 with 5.0). The course page requires IELTS for UKVI for visa students, while the English page says no SELT is needed and calls the course online.
For a Student visa, UK Visas and Immigration asks for English at CEFR B2 for degree-level study and B1 below degree level, per gov.uk. At degree level, gov.uk adds, your university can assess your English itself and may ask you to take a different test.
Requirements vary by programme and change between admissions cycles. The score that binds you is the one on your CCCU programme page and in your offer letter, so check it there before you book a test.
Frequently asked questions
Does Canterbury Christ Church University accept PTE?+
Yes, taken at a test centre: 59 with no element below 59 for standard programmes and 76 for professional health programmes. Non-standard postgraduate programmes are listed at 56 with 46.
Does CCCU accept Duolingo?+
Duolingo does not appear among CCCU's accepted English language tests.
Does CCCU accept the IELTS Indicator?+
Yes. CCCU's requirements table is headed IELTS Indicator requirements and describes it as an online test taken in person or online.
Can Indian students study at CCCU without IELTS?+
Yes, with 65% in Standard XII English from CBSE or ISC, or 70% from the Maharashtra, West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Karnataka or Kerala boards, for IELTS 6.0 courses. MOI certificates are not accepted.
What IELTS do nursing students need at CCCU?+
7.0 with no element below 6.5 for courses starting in 2026, and 6.5 with no element below 6.5 from 2027, when overseas applicants also attend an online interview.
Keep reading
Related
- University of Kent IELTS requirement
- University of Greenwich IELTS requirement
- IELTS for UKVI vs IELTS Academic
- IELTS band score calculator
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy