Centennial English test minimums
Scores are from Centennial's language proficiency information page. Which column applies depends on your first communications course: diplomas that start at COMM 160 use the lower scores, while fast-track programs and diplomas that start at COMM 170 use the higher ones. Centennial says to check the Program Outline tab on your program page.
TOEFL iBT needs 67 (Reading 16, Writing 23) or 81 (Reading 19, Writing 23); a minimum on the new 1–6 TOEFL scale is not stated by Centennial. Other options include CAEL 60 or 70 (Writing 60), iTEP 3.7 to 4.1, Cambridge English 167 to 180, MET and LanguageCert Academic.
| Level | IELTS Academic | TOEFL iBT | PTE Academic | Duolingo |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificates and diplomas (COMM 160 start) | 6.0, no band below 5.5 | 67 (R 16, W 23) | 51+ | 105–114 |
| Fast-track and select diplomas (COMM 170 start) | 6.5, no band below 6.0 | 81 (R 19, W 23) | 58+ | 125+ |
| Degrees and graduate certificates | 6.5, no band below 6.0 | 81 (R 19, W 23) | 60+ | 125+ |
Programs with extra English requirements
Centennial lists additional English requirements on the program pages for Medical Laboratory Technician, Pharmacy Technician, Practical Nursing, Practical Nursing Flex and Workplace Wellness and Health Promotion, so check those pages before booking a test.
A test validity period, and a position on IELTS One Skill Retake and IELTS Online, are not stated by Centennial on this page.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Meeting the requirement without a test
You can instead show two or more consecutive full years at a school or college where English is the primary language of instruction, or a Grade 12 college or university stream English course from an OSSD-granting school. Centennial's English Language Learning program counts at level 5 with 60% in all three courses, or 80% for graduate certificates.
Study permit and PGWP: separate rules
Centennial's scores decide admission only. IRCC sets no minimum English score for a study permit; any language condition is written into your letter of acceptance (see IELTS for a Canada study permit). The Post-Graduation Work Permit is a separate test again. IRCC's PGWP eligibility page asks graduates of college, polytechnic and other non-university programs for CLB 5 in all four skills, and anyone who graduated with a bachelor's, master's or doctoral degree for CLB 7. On IELTS General Training, CLB 5 is Reading 4.0 and Writing, Listening and Speaking 5.0 (IRCC score table). The PGWP takes IELTS General Training, CELPIP-General or PTE Core, not IELTS Academic, and college programs also face a field-of-study rule if you applied for your study permit on or after 1 November 2024 (see IELTS for the PGWP).
Frequently asked questions
Does Centennial College accept PTE?+
Yes. PTE Academic 51+ for certificates and diplomas, 58+ for fast-track and select diplomas, and 60+ for degrees and graduate certificates.
Does Centennial accept Duolingo?+
Yes. 105–114 for certificates and diplomas starting at COMM 160, and 125+ for fast-track programs, advanced diplomas starting at COMM 170, graduate certificates and degrees.
What IELTS do I need for a Centennial graduate certificate?+
IELTS Academic 6.5 with no band score below 6.0.
Is IELTS 6.0 enough for Centennial?+
For certificates and diplomas that start at COMM 160, yes, if no band is below 5.5. Fast-track programs, degrees and graduate certificates need 6.5.
Does the Centennial IELTS score count for the PGWP?+
No. The college's score is an admission rule on IELTS Academic. For the PGWP, IRCC asks graduates of non-degree college programs for CLB 5 in every skill and degree graduates for CLB 7, proved with IELTS General Training, CELPIP-General or PTE Core.
Keep reading
Related
- George Brown Polytechnic IELTS requirement
- Seneca Polytechnic IELTS requirement
- IELTS for Canada
- Free IELTS mock test with AI band score
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 4 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy