Visa English requirements

Do you need IELTS for a Canadian study permit?

IRCC does not set an English test or minimum IELTS score for a study permit. Its document list covers a letter of acceptance, a provincial or territorial attestation letter, identity, proof of funds and, where needed, a medical exam and police certificate. Your school decides the English score, and any language condition appears in your letter of acceptance.
  • Checked against official sources · 30 September 2026
  • 3 sections
  • IELTS

What IRCC's study permit page asks for

The study permit documents page lists: a letter of acceptance (always required), a provincial or territorial attestation letter (needed in most cases), proof of identity, proof of funds, a recommended letter of explanation, and a medical exam, police certificate or proof of care if they apply. A language test result is not on the list. Your local visa office may ask for other documents.

IRCC's staff instructions on letters of acceptance say the letter should include "any conditions related to the acceptance or registration, such as academic prerequisites, completion of a previous degree, proof of language competence". So the IELTS score you need is the one your school sets. When an English or French as a second language course is a condition for a later program, officers issue the permit for the prerequisite program plus one year.

QuestionWhat IRCC says
Minimum IELTS score for a study permitNot stated by IRCC; set by your school
IELTS Academic or General TrainingNot stated by IRCC for study permits; follow your school
Student Direct Stream (SDS)Ended 8 November 2024, 2 p.m. ET
English test after graduation (PGWP)Required from 1 November 2024: CLB 7 or CLB 5

The Student Direct Stream has ended

The SDS, which had its own language test requirement, ended on 8 November 2024 at 2 p.m. ET. Applications submitted on or after that date are processed as regular study permits (IRCC).

Immigration rules change, sometimes at short notice. Confirm the current requirement on the IRCC study permit documents page before you book a test or apply. This guide is general information, not legal or immigration advice.

Know your target? Check where you stand

Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.

Take a free scored IELTS mock →

Plan for the PGWP test now

Even though the study permit has no IRCC English minimum, the Post-Graduation Work Permit does. If you apply for a PGWP on or after 1 November 2024, you need CLB 7 after a university program or CLB 5 after a college program, on CELPIP-General, IELTS General Training, PTE Core, TEF Canada or TCF Canada (IRCC). An IELTS Academic result used for admission will not cover it. See our PGWP English guide.

Frequently asked questions

What is the minimum IELTS score for a Canada study permit?+

IRCC does not set one. Your designated learning institution sets the score and lists any language condition in your letter of acceptance.

Can I get a Canadian study permit without IELTS?+

IRCC's document list does not include a language test, so it depends on whether your school admits you without one.

Does SDS still need IELTS 6.0?+

The Student Direct Stream ended on 8 November 2024. Applications made after that are processed as regular study permits.

Will I need an English test to work in Canada after graduating?+

Yes, for a PGWP applied for on or after 1 November 2024: CLB 7 after university or CLB 5 after college, on an IRCC-approved test.

Keep reading

Related

Verified against the linked official sources on 30 September 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.

© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy

Take a free scored IELTS mock