University English requirements

What PTE score do you need for Clemson University?

Clemson University's graduate admissions minimum is PTE 54, and scores are valid for up to two years from the test date. Official reports must be sent electronically from the testing agency. Some departments set a higher bar. The undergraduate international page names Duolingo, TOEFL and IELTS only.
  • Guide updated · 1 November 2026
  • 3 sections
  • PTE

Written byFizza Butool ZaidiIELTS teacher for 10+ years, PTE for 5Updated 1 November 2026

Clemson PTE minimums by programme

From the graduate English language proficiency page, the ECE graduate FAQ, the Environmental Engineering and Earth Sciences FAQ and the undergraduate international page.

Programme or bandPTE overallMinimum per skill
Graduate (university minimum)54Not stated
Electrical and Computer Engineering graduate54Not stated
Environmental Engineering and Earth Sciences graduate61Not stated
UndergraduateNot listedDuolingo, TOEFL or IELTS only

Test rules and how to send your score

Graduate scores are valid for up to two years from the test date. Official score reports must be sent electronically from the testing agency; Clemson does not accept unofficial reports or reports sent by the applicant. It does not mention PTE Academic Online or PTE Core.

For comparison, the graduate minimum for IELTS is 6.5. Meeting the university minimum does not guarantee admission, since each programme sets its own requirements.

Know your target? Check where you stand

Take a free AI-scored PTE mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.

Take a free mock →

Practise before you book: free PTE mock test, PTE predictions, PTE Core practice test and PTE to IELTS converter.

If you fall short

The graduate page does not describe a conditional route for low PTE scores. The ECE department adds that its programme has very high expectations of applicants, so a score at the minimum may not be competitive.

Requirements vary by programme and change between admissions cycles. The score that binds you is the one on your Clemson programme page and in your offer letter, so check it there before you book a test.

Frequently asked questions

What PTE score does Clemson need?+

PTE 54 is the graduate admissions minimum.

How do you send PTE scores to Clemson?+

The graduate page says official reports must come electronically from the testing agency; Clemson does not accept unofficial or self-sent reports.

Do any Clemson departments ask for more than 54?+

Yes. Environmental Engineering and Earth Sciences lists PTE 61.

Does Clemson accept PTE for undergraduate admission?+

The undergraduate international page names Duolingo, TOEFL and IELTS, not PTE.

Keep reading

Related

Guide updated on 1 November 2026. Individual prices and policies may have earlier observation dates. Confirm current details on the linked official pages before you book or apply.

© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy