Conestoga English test minimums
Scores are from Conestoga's international admission requirements page. TOEFL is 80 (no skill below 20) or 88 (no skill below 22) on the old scale, and 4.5 or 5 on the 1–6 scale effective January 2026. Conestoga notes that required scores may vary for some IT and engineering programs.
These diplomas use the degree-level scores: Advertising and Marketing Communications, Business – Insurance, Fitness and Health Promotion, Food Processing Technician, Journalism, Nutrition and Food Service Management, Occupational Therapist Assistant and Physiotherapist Assistant, Practical Nursing and Public Relations. Program pages set others: Massage Therapy is in the table, and Medical Laboratory Assistant/Technician needs IELTS 7.0 with Writing 6.5 and no band below 6.0.
| Level | IELTS Academic | TOEFL iBT | PTE Academic | Duolingo |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Most diplomas and certificates | 6.0, no band below 5.5 | 80 (20 each) or 4.5 | 53 | 110 |
| Degrees and graduate certificates | 6.5, no band below 6.0 | 88 (22 each) or 5 | 58 | 120 |
| Listed diplomas, e.g. Practical Nursing, Journalism | 6.5, no band below 6.0 | 88 (22 each) or 5 | 58 | 120 |
| Massage Therapy | 6.5, no band below 6.0, Speaking 8.0 | 88 | 58 | Not stated by Conestoga |
Validity, One Skill Retake and Duolingo limits
Duolingo is not eligible for the Pharmacy Technician program. Conestoga's English Language Studies chart prints PTE as 53–57 for direct entry to most diplomas and 58–60 for graduate certificates and degrees, while the main admission table gives 53 and 58.
A test validity period, and a position on IELTS One Skill Retake and IELTS Online, are not stated by Conestoga on its admission page.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Conestoga's English Language Studies pathway
If your English is not ready for direct entry, Conestoga offers General Arts and Science: English Language Studies. Each level is a four-month program; Level 1 starts at IELTS 2.5 (no band below 2.0) and Level 2 at 4.5 (no band below 4.0), and Conestoga says the equivalencies are subject to change.
Study permit and PGWP: separate rules
Conestoga's scores decide admission only. IRCC sets no minimum English score for a study permit; any language condition is written into your letter of acceptance (see IELTS for a Canada study permit). The Post-Graduation Work Permit is a separate test again. IRCC's PGWP eligibility page asks graduates of college, polytechnic and other non-university programs for CLB 5 in all four skills, and anyone who graduated with a bachelor's, master's or doctoral degree for CLB 7. On IELTS General Training, CLB 5 is Reading 4.0 and Writing, Listening and Speaking 5.0 (IRCC score table). The PGWP takes IELTS General Training, CELPIP-General or PTE Core, not IELTS Academic, and college programs also face a field-of-study rule if you applied for your study permit on or after 1 November 2024 (see IELTS for the PGWP).
Frequently asked questions
Does Conestoga accept PTE?+
Yes. PTE Academic 53 for most diplomas and certificates, and 58 for degrees, graduate certificates and the listed higher-level diplomas.
Does Conestoga accept Duolingo?+
Yes: 110 for most diplomas and certificates and 120 for degrees and graduate certificates. Duolingo is not eligible for Pharmacy Technician.
What IELTS do I need for a Conestoga graduate certificate?+
IELTS Academic 6.5 with no band below 6.0. Some IT and engineering programs may vary.
What IELTS does Conestoga Practical Nursing require?+
6.5 with no band below 6.0. Practical Nursing is one of the diplomas Conestoga lists at the degree-level score.
Does the Conestoga IELTS score count for the PGWP?+
No. The college's score is an admission rule on IELTS Academic. For the PGWP, IRCC asks graduates of non-degree college programs for CLB 5 in every skill and degree graduates for CLB 7, proved with IELTS General Training, CELPIP-General or PTE Core.
Keep reading
Related
- Fanshawe College IELTS requirement
- Niagara College IELTS requirement
- IELTS for Canada
- IELTS for the Canada PGWP
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 4 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy