University English requirements

What IELTS score do you need for Curtin University Dubai?

Curtin University Dubai publishes English on each course page: IELTS 6.0 with 6.0 in every band for business, IT, engineering and most master's, and 6.5 (6.0) for psychology and the MBA. The Foundation Program asks for 5.5 (5.0), or 6.0 (6.0) for media and arts. IT and engineering pages also accept 12th CBSE at 60%. PTE, TOEFL and Duolingo scores are not stated.
  • Checked against official sources · 8 October 2026
  • 3 sections
  • IELTS

Curtin Dubai IELTS by course

Curtin Dubai has no central English page; these course pages were read on 8 October 2026. Each says IELTS "or equivalent" without naming other tests, so PTE, TOEFL and Duolingo scores are not stated by Curtin Dubai. Its application page asks for certified copies of IELTS or TOEFL where applicable. Curtin Dubai is itself a paper-based IELTS test centre in partnership with IDP.

CourseLevelIELTS
Bachelor of Business AdministrationUndergraduate6.0, minimum 6.0 in each band
Bachelor of Science, Information TechnologyUndergraduate6.0, no band less than 6.0
BEng (Hons) Mechanical EngineeringUndergraduate6.0, no band less than 6.0
BSc Psychological ScienceUndergraduate6.5, minimum 6.0 in each band
MBA in International BusinessPostgraduate6.5, minimum 6.0 in each band
Master of Artificial IntelligencePostgraduate6.0, minimum 6.0 in each band
Master of Cyber SecurityPostgraduate6.0, minimum 6.0 in each band

CBSE, Pakistani grades and the Foundation Program

The IT and Mechanical Engineering pages list "12th CBSE – 60%" among their English language requirements, alongside IGCSE English C and IBDP 4. They do not say whether 60% is in English or overall, and the BBA and psychology pages list IELTS only, so confirm with admissions. Academically, most pages ask for CBSE/ICSE 60% or HSC 65%; the BBA page adds Pakistan 75%.

The Foundation Program runs two trimesters (8 months) with January, May or September intakes, from Grade 11 or five IGCSE/O-levels at C.

Foundation routeCurtin Dubai English requirement
Business, IT or Engineering pathwaysIELTS 5.5, no band lower than 5.0, or equivalent
Media and Arts pathwaysIELTS 6.0, minimum 6.0 in each band, or equivalent
IGCSE or O-level EnglishGrade C or higher
SAT1000, no band less than 400
IB EnglishScore of 4

Know your target? Check where you stand

Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.

Take a free scored IELTS mock →

UAE visa and CAA note

Curtin Dubai's CAA page says the CAA of the Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research granted it institutional accreditation on 9 January 2025. A CAA or EmSAT English minimum is not stated by Curtin Dubai. Its student support page says students on university-provided visas must take at least 75 credit points each trimester.

In the UAE, the student residence visa is sponsored by the university. Curtin Dubai's visa page sets no English score for it; the English bar is the admission requirement above.

Requirements vary by programme and change between admissions cycles. The score that binds you is the one on your Curtin Dubai programme page and in your offer letter, so check it there before you book a test.

Frequently asked questions

What IELTS score does Curtin Dubai need?+

6.0 with 6.0 in each band for business, IT, engineering, AI and cyber security; 6.5 with 6.0 for psychology and the MBA; 5.5 (5.0) for most foundation pathways.

Does Curtin Dubai accept PTE or Duolingo?+

PTE and Duolingo scores are not stated by Curtin Dubai. Course pages say IELTS "or equivalent", and the application page mentions IELTS or TOEFL.

Can CBSE students skip IELTS at Curtin Dubai?+

The IT and Mechanical Engineering pages list "12th CBSE – 60%" under English requirements. Other pages list IELTS only, so confirm with admissions.

Can I take IELTS at Curtin Dubai?+

Yes. Curtin University Dubai is an official IELTS test centre in partnership with IDP, offering paper-based exams on its campus.

Is Curtin Dubai CAA accredited?+

Curtin Dubai says the CAA granted institutional accreditation on 9 January 2025. It does not state a CAA or EmSAT English minimum.

Keep reading

Related

Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.

© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy

Take a free scored IELTS mock