Duke English requirements at a glance
Sources: The Graduate School's English language proficiency test scores page and Undergraduate Admissions' apply page. Graduate section minimums are not stated by Duke.
| Level | IELTS Academic | TOEFL iBT | Duolingo | PTE Academic |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Graduate School (generally sought) | 7.0 | 5 (old scale 90) | 125 (with subscores) | Not accepted |
| Undergraduate (optional; expected if submitted) | 7 | 100; new-scale score not stated | 130 | 70 |
Graduate: IELTS 7.0, and the waiver rule
If your first language is not English, you submit TOEFL, IELTS Academic or Duolingo with subscores; Duolingo reports without subscores are not accepted. The Duolingo recipient listed covers the Graduate School, Divinity, Engineering, Environment, Public Policy and Duke Kunshan. Scores must be dated no earlier than 1 August two years before the application year; for Fall 2027 that means 1 August 2024 or later.
The waiver needs two or more years of full-time study at a college where English is the sole language of instruction and in a country where English is the primary spoken language. Duke publishes no country list and does not say whether India qualifies. Waivers are not reviewed before an offer. Every admitted non-native speaker takes English Language Support Program placement exams, even with a waiver. See the Graduate School page.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Undergraduate: recommended, not required
Duke recommends but does not require an English test for non-native speakers or students not in an English-medium curriculum, and has no preference among tests. Expected minimums are Cambridge C1 Advanced or C2 Proficiency 180, Duolingo 130, IELTS 7, PTE Academic 70 and TOEFL 100 (75 on the revised paper test). Duke suggests sending Duolingo officially; other scores can be self-reported. See Duke apply.
Student visa and next steps
The US F-1 student visa sets no English test score of its own. What counts is the requirement Duke sets for admission, which leads to your Form I-20. For the wider picture of studying in the US with each test, see IELTS for the USA and PTE for the USA.
Requirements change between admission cycles. Check the Duke Graduate School English proficiency page again before you book a test, and check your own program page, which can set a higher bar.
Frequently asked questions
What IELTS score do I need for a master's at Duke?+
The Graduate School generally seeks IELTS Academic 7.0 or higher, and says the average scores of admitted students are above that level.
Does Duke accept PTE?+
Not for The Graduate School, which accepts TOEFL, IELTS Academic or Duolingo. Undergraduate Admissions does accept PTE Academic and expects 70.
Do Indian students need IELTS for Duke?+
Usually, yes. The waiver needs two years of full-time study where English is the sole language of instruction and in a country where English is the primary spoken language; Duke does not list countries or say whether India qualifies.
What Duolingo score does Duke need?+
The Graduate School generally seeks 125 with subscores included. Undergraduates are expected to have 130 if they submit it.
Do undergraduates need IELTS for Duke?+
No. Duke does not require an English test from undergraduates, but recommends one for non-native speakers; the expected IELTS band is 7.
Keep reading
Related
- IELTS for the USA
- TOEFL to IELTS converter
- Northwestern IELTS requirement
- Johns Hopkins IELTS requirement
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy