Fordham English requirements at a glance
Sources: GSAS's international students page, the Gabelli School of Business graduate admissions requirements and Undergraduate Admission's international students page. Section minimums are not stated by Fordham. Gabelli counts scores as valid for up to two years from the term of entrance; undergraduate scores must be less than two years old.
| Level | IELTS Academic | TOEFL iBT | Duolingo | PTE Academic |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Graduate, GSAS (most programs) | 7.0 | 5.0 (old scale 100) | 130 | 68 |
| Graduate, GSAS Computer Science, Cybersecurity, Data Science | 6.5 | 4.5 (old scale 85) | 115 | 59 |
| Graduate, Gabelli School of Business (recommended) | 7 | 100; new-scale score not stated | 120 | 68 |
| Undergraduate first-year | 7.0 | 4.5 (old scale 90) | 125 | 65 |
Graduate: IELTS 7.0, and the India exemption
GSAS's lower tier covers the PhD and MS in Computer Science, the MS in Cybersecurity, the MS in Data Science and the Advanced Certificate in Data Science for Cybersecurity. GSAS exemptions are case by case, and its list includes this line: "you received an undergraduate or graduate degree from a university in India. (In some cases, we may request language proficiency test scores.)" See GSAS international students. Gabelli's exemption is narrower: education completed exclusively in English in a listed English-speaking country, and India is not on that list.
Students whose scores fall below program requirements may be admitted on condition that they take the Fordham English Language Test (FELT) at the Institute of American Language and Culture, which can recommend extra coursework at the student's own cost. Gabelli also reserves the right to interview and test applicants and require English courses.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Undergraduate: IELTS 7.0 or PTE 65
First-year applicants need TOEFL 4.5 (90 before January 2026), IELTS 7.0, Duolingo 125 or PTE 65; official scores must come directly from the testing organisation and be less than two years old. Applicants not submitting a score complete the English Language Proficiency Test Waiver Request Form in the applicant portal, and those near New York City can take Fordham's FELT instead. See international students.
Student visa and next steps
The US F-1 student visa sets no English test score of its own. What counts is the requirement Fordham sets for admission, which leads to your Form I-20. For the wider picture of studying in the US with each test, see IELTS for the USA and PTE for the USA.
Requirements change between admission cycles. Check the Fordham GSAS international students page again before you book a test, and check your own program page, which can set a higher bar.
Frequently asked questions
What IELTS score do I need for an MS in Computer Science at Fordham?+
IELTS 6.5. GSAS accepts this lower score for Computer Science, Cybersecurity and Data Science; most other GSAS programs need IELTS 7.0.
Are Indian students exempt from IELTS at Fordham?+
Often, at GSAS. It lists an undergraduate or graduate degree from a university in India as an exemption, though it may still request scores in some cases. Gabelli has no such exemption.
Does Fordham accept PTE and Duolingo?+
Yes. GSAS asks for PTE 68 or Duolingo 130 for most programs, and PTE 59 or Duolingo 115 for CS and data science. Undergraduates need PTE 65 or Duolingo 125.
What IELTS score does Fordham's Gabelli School of Business recommend?+
IELTS 7, TOEFL 100, PTE 68 or Duolingo 120 are Gabelli's recommended scores for graduate business programs.
What TOEFL score does Fordham need on the new scale?+
5.0 for most GSAS programs, 4.5 for CS and data science, and 4.5 for undergraduates, on tests from 21 January 2026.
Keep reading
Related
- IELTS for the USA
- TOEFL to IELTS converter
- NYU IELTS requirement
- Columbia IELTS requirement
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy