Who sets the English requirement for dentists in Canada
The National Dental Examining Board runs certification, but it says each provincial dental regulatory authority (DRA) sets licensure requirements, and DRAs may require evidence of language proficiency before licensure. So the scores depend on your province. This guide uses Ontario's published rules from the RCDSO language proficiency page (undated; read 6 October 2026). Check your own province's regulator if you plan to practise elsewhere.
RCDSO (Ontario) minimum scores
You must meet the minimum in each skill and the overall score. PTE Core is printed as score ranges on the RCDSO page; they are copied here as published. OET and PTE Academic are not listed.
| Test | Writing | Speaking | Listening | Reading | Overall |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| IELTS Academic or General | 7 | 7 | 7 | 7 | 7.5 |
| TOEFL iBT before 21 January 2026 | 27 | 23 | 24 | 24 | 100 |
| TOEFL iBT on or after 21 January 2026 | 5.5 | 5 | 5 | 5 | 5 |
| CELPIP General | 8 | 8 | 8 | 8 | 8 |
| PTE Core | 79-87 | 76-83 | 71-81 | 69-77 | Not stated |
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Validity, sittings and other pathways
The RCDSO says scores are valid for two years from the date of the test, and that the old TOEFL scale stays in effect for tests taken before 21 January 2026 until January 2028. Whether two sittings can be combined is not stated by the RCDSO.
You may not need a test at all. The RCDSO accepts graduation from a dentistry program accredited by CDAC, by CODA (American Dental Association), by the Australian Dental Council (after 31 March 2010), by the Dental Council of New Zealand (after 14 December 2011) or by the Irish Dental Council (after 5 December 2012); a qualifying or degree completion program; or a non-accredited program taught entirely in English or French, confirmed by a dean's letter. Otherwise you can submit alternative evidence, such as English-language work or teaching, from the last five years.
Immigration language rules are not stated by the RCDSO; see IELTS for Canada. Regulators change these rules, sometimes at short notice. Confirm the current scores on the RCDSO page before you book a test.
Frequently asked questions
What IELTS score do dentists need in Ontario?+
IELTS Academic or General with 7 in writing, speaking, listening and reading and an overall band of 7.5.
Does the NDEB set an IELTS score?+
No. The NDEB says provincial dental regulatory authorities may require language proficiency before licensure, so the score depends on the province.
Is OET accepted for dentists in Ontario?+
OET is not listed by the RCDSO. It lists IELTS, TOEFL iBT, CELPIP General, PTE Core, TEF Canada and TCF Canada.
How long is the IELTS result valid?+
Two years from the date of the test, according to the RCDSO.
Do I need IELTS if I graduated in Australia?+
Not for the RCDSO if your program was accredited by the Australian Dental Council after 31 March 2010.
Keep reading
Related
- IELTS for doctors in Canada
- CELPIP to IELTS score conversion
- IELTS Academic vs General Training
- Free IELTS mock test
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 6 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy