IU Indianapolis English requirements at a glance
Sources: the campus graduate English requirements, undergraduate English requirements, the English-speaking countries list, the EAP placement test page and the Luddy School's master's admissions page. Undergraduate scores can be no more than two years old. PTE is not listed for undergraduates.
| Level | IELTS Academic | TOEFL iBT | Duolingo | PTE Academic |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Graduate, campus minimum | 6.5 | 79 or 4.0 | 110 | 54 |
| Graduate, Luddy: Bioinformatics, Biomedical Engineering, Computer Science, Health Informatics | 6.5 | 79 | 115 | Not stated |
| Graduate, Luddy: Applied Data Science, Human-Computer Interaction | 7.0 | 90 | 130 | Not stated |
| Undergraduate | 5.5 | 60 or 3.5 | 90 (95 from Spring 2027) | Not listed |
Graduate: IELTS 6.5, higher for Luddy programs
The campus minimums are TOEFL iBT or Home Edition 79 or 4.0 on the scoring used from January 2026 (school code 1325), TOEFL Essentials 8, IELTS, IELTS Online or IELTS Indicator 6.5, Duolingo 110, PTE Academic 54, Program for Intensive English (PIE) Level 7 or ELS Level 112. A bachelor's or higher from a designated English-speaking country also counts. See graduate English requirements. The Luddy School asks for Duolingo 115 in Computer Science and three other programs, and IELTS 7.0, TOEFL 90 or Duolingo 130 in Applied Data Science and Human-Computer Interaction; its fully online programs need TOEFL 100 or IELTS 7.5 (Luddy master's admissions).
India and Pakistan are not on either country list. Degree holders from countries where English is an official language, such as Nigeria, the Philippines or Singapore, are accepted but still take the EAP test. PIE Level 7 meets the requirement only for select master's programs, and PIE does not give conditional admission (PIE page).
Free test: are you at Indiana University Indianapolis's score yet?
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock test and get a band for each skill, so you know how far you are from the requirement before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Free test: take an IELTS mock →Practise before you book: free IELTS mock test, IELTS reading practice, IELTS listening practice and IELTS speaking predictions.
The EAP placement test after admission
Most admitted international students take the English for Academic Purposes test. Graduate students are exempt with TOEFL iBT 100, 5.0 on the new scale or IELTS 7.5. TOEFL 79–99, 4.0–4.5, IELTS 6.5–7.0, IELTS Online or Indicator, TOEFL Home Edition or Essentials, Duolingo, PIE and ELS all mean taking the test. Depending on the result, you take required EAP courses alongside your degree for one or two semesters. You cannot send a newer score after admission to avoid the test. See placement tests.
Undergraduate: IELTS 5.5 or TOEFL 60
Undergraduates meet the requirement with TOEFL iBT 60 or 3.5, IELTS 5.5, SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing 410, ACT English 17, Duolingo 90 for Fall 2026 applications (95 from Spring 2027), three years of upper secondary school in a listed country, PIE Level 5, ELS Level 109, a C in GCSE or GCE O Level English, or IB Higher Level English A grade 4. Scores can be no more than two years old. Undergraduates with TOEFL 95 or IELTS 7.0 skip the EAP test. See undergraduate English requirements.
Student visa and next steps
The US F-1 student visa sets no English test score of its own. What counts is the requirement IU Indianapolis sets for admission, which leads to your Form I-20. For the wider picture of studying in the US with each test, see IELTS for the USA and PTE for the USA.
Requirements change between admission cycles. Check the IU Indianapolis graduate English requirements page again before you book a test, and check your own program page, which can set a higher bar.
Minimum vs competitive score
Where Indiana University Indianapolis publishes an IELTS score, it is the minimum: the floor an application has to meet to be considered, not a score that guarantees an offer.
Competitive programmes, and courses with far more applicants than places, may expect more than the minimum, and some departments set their own overall or per-skill scores, often for writing or speaking. The course page has the final word, so check it before you book a test.
If you are close to the line, aim for a margin above it: one weak skill can miss the requirement even when the overall band clears it. Not sure where you stand? Take a free IELTS mock test and get a band for each skill.
Frequently asked questions
What IELTS score do I need for a master's at IU Indianapolis?+
IELTS 6.5 is the campus minimum. Luddy's Applied Data Science and Human-Computer Interaction programs ask for IELTS 7.0.
Does IU Indianapolis accept IELTS Online?+
Yes, for graduate admission at 6.5, but IELTS Online and IELTS Indicator scores always lead to the EAP placement test.
What IELTS score avoids the EAP test at IU Indianapolis?+
Graduate students with IELTS 7.5 or TOEFL iBT 100 are exempt from the EAP test. Undergraduates need IELTS 7.0 or TOEFL 95.
Does IU Indianapolis accept PTE?+
Yes, PTE Academic 54 for graduate admission. PTE is not listed for undergraduates.
Are Indian students exempt from IELTS at IU Indianapolis?+
No. India is not on either of IU Indianapolis's English-speaking country lists.
Keep reading
Related
- IELTS for the USA
- TOEFL to IELTS converter
- Indiana University IELTS requirement
- Purdue IELTS requirement
- All 1783 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 15 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy