Keele's English groups by test
From Keele's English language requirements page for 2027/28 entry; the 2026/27 page lists the same scores. Visa students need tests from the two years before the course start, and different tests cannot be combined. Group G covers the MBA and final-year entry to Group A courses.
| Group | IELTS Academic or Indicator | PTE Academic (incl. online) | LanguageCert Academic SELT |
|---|---|---|---|
| Group A | 6.0, 5.5 in all components | 59, 54 in each component | 65, 60 in all components |
| Group B | 6.5, 5.5 in all components | 62, 54 in each component | 70, 60 in all components |
| Group C | 6.5, 6.0 in all components | 62, 59 in each component | 70, 65 in all components |
| Group D | 7.0, 6.5 in all components | 69, 62 in each component | 75, 70 in all components |
| Group G (MBA) | 6.0; 6.0 in reading and writing, 5.5 in speaking and listening | 59; listening 54 | 65; 60 in speaking and listening |
Keele groups on course pages
These course pages were read on 8 October 2026. Each names the group needed by students who require a test.
| Course | Level | Group | IELTS |
|---|---|---|---|
| Computer Science BSc | Undergraduate | A | 6.0, 5.5 in all components |
| Law LLB | Undergraduate | B | 6.5, 5.5 in all components |
| Artificial Intelligence and Data Science MSc | Postgraduate | B | 6.5, 5.5 in all components |
| International Business MSc | Postgraduate | B | 6.5, 5.5 in all components |
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Indian and Nigerian applicants
Keele accepts Standard XII English at 70% from ICSE or CBSE and 75% from listed state boards (Andhra Pradesh, Delhi, Karnataka, Kerala, Goa, Gujarat, Maharashtra, Meghalaya, NIOS, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Telangana, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal), within five years. It accepts WASSCE English at C6 with no time limit.
Keele's Nigeria page says it can consider WAEC and NECO English at C6 for postgraduates, but does not accept the Senior School Certificate for direct undergraduate entry, an academic rule. Keele's Pakistan, Nepal and Bangladesh pages list IELTS 6.0 (5.5) for undergraduate Year 1 and no school-English route, so those are not stated by Keele.
Pre-sessional English, deposits and the Student visa
Keele's online pre-sessional course, run with OI Digital Institute, lasts 16, 12 or 6 weeks for £3,490, £2,665 or £1,640. Undergraduates join at IELTS 4.5 (4.0), 5.0 (4.5) or 5.5 (5.0) to exit at 6.0 (5.5); postgraduates join at 5.0 (4.5), 5.5 (5.0) or 6.0 (5.5) to exit at 6.5 (6.0). You also need to pay your degree tuition deposit to progress.
Keele's postgraduate deposit page gives a standard overseas deposit of £4,000. For September 2026 the deadline was 31 July for applicants from Pakistan, Kenya, Nigeria, India and Ghana; for January 2027 it is 23 November 2026 for Kenya and India and 30 November for other countries.
For a Student visa, UK Visas and Immigration asks for English at CEFR B2 for degree-level study and B1 below degree level, per gov.uk. At degree level, gov.uk adds, your university can assess your English itself and may ask you to take a different test.
Requirements vary by programme and change between admissions cycles. The score that binds you is the one on your Keele programme page and in your offer letter, so check it there before you book a test.
Frequently asked questions
Does Keele University accept PTE?+
Yes, including the online test: 59 with 54 in each component for Group A courses, 62 with 54 for Group B, and 62 with 59 for Group C.
Does Keele accept Duolingo?+
Duolingo is not on Keele's list of accepted English language tests.
What IELTS do I need for a master's at Keele?+
The master's pages read, including Artificial Intelligence and Data Science MSc and International Business MSc, are in Group B: IELTS 6.5 with 5.5 in all components.
Can Indian students study at Keele without IELTS?+
Yes, with 70% in Standard XII English from ICSE or CBSE, or 75% from one of fourteen listed state boards, taken within five years.
Does Keele accept IELTS Online?+
Keele lists IELTS Academic and IELTS Indicator. Whether IELTS Online is accepted is not stated on its English language requirements page.
Keep reading
Related
- Aston University IELTS requirement
- University of Hull IELTS requirement
- IELTS for UK universities
- IELTS band score calculator
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy