University English requirements

What IELTS score do you need for Liverpool John Moores University?

Liverpool John Moores University's default English requirement is IELTS 6.0 with 5.5 in each component, and most undergraduate courses use it. Some master's ask for more: Data Science MSc needs 6.5 with 6.0 in each component. PTE Academic is 61 with 59 in each component, and Duolingo starts at 120. LJMU is not accepting applications from Pakistan or Bangladesh for 2026/27.
  • Checked against official sources · 8 October 2026
  • 4 sections
  • IELTS

LJMU's English levels by test

From LJMU's international entry requirements page, which LJMU says is guidance only. It publishes one PTE score, for the 6.0 (5.5) level, and Duolingo only at the 6.5 and 7.0 levels. LJMU does not accept Duolingo from students from countries that require a SELT, and does not accept LanguageCert, Pearson Versant or the Oxford ELLT from students from Pakistan. Course pages say IELTS must be taken within two years of the start date.

TestIELTS 6.0 (5.5) levelHigher levels
IELTS Academic, IELTS for UKVI or IELTS Online6.0, 5.5 in each componentSet on each course page
Pearson PTE Academic or PTE Academic UKVI61, minimum 59 in each componentNot stated by LJMU
Duolingo (not for SELT-country applicants)Not stated by LJMU120 (110 each) for IELTS 6.5 (6.0); 130 (120 each) for 7.0 (6.5)
LanguageCert Academic65, no component below 6070, no component below 60 for IELTS 6.5
Oxford ELLT6, 5 in each skill7 for IELTS 6.5 (5.5)

LJMU IELTS on course pages

These 2027-entry course pages were read on 8 October 2026. None of them states a PTE score. Nursing applicants also sit an admissions assessment and an online interview, and LJMU asks BSc and MSc Nursing applicants using WAEC or NECO for C5 in English rather than C6.

CourseLevelIELTS
Computer Science BScUndergraduate6.0, no component below 5.5
Adult and Children's Nursing MNursUndergraduate7.0, 6.5 in each component
Data Science MScPostgraduate6.5, minimum 6.0 in each component
International Business and Management MScPostgraduate6.0, minimum 5.5 in each component

Know your target? Check where you stand

Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.

Take a free scored IELTS mock →

Indian, Nigerian, Pakistani and Bangladeshi applicants

LJMU's Pakistan page and Bangladesh page say the university will not be accepting applications from either country for 2026/27. The Bangladesh page also makes a UKVI-approved SELT compulsory. The Nepal page lists no school-English route.

For India, the main page accepts 70% in Standard XII English from CBSE, CISCE and four state boards (Maharashtra, West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Karnataka). LJMU's India page instead accepts "most State Boards" and excludes the boards below. The two pages differ, so confirm your board with admissions. The Nigeria page accepts WAEC or NECO with no time limit.

QualificationLJMU requirement
India Standard XII English (India page)70% for IELTS 6.0 courses, 75% for 6.5, 80% for 7.0; valid six years
India boards not accepted (India page)NIOS, Punjab, Haryana, Chandigarh, Gujarat, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand; a SELT is needed
WAEC or NECO EnglishC6 (C5 for BSc or MSc Nursing)
BangladeshApplications closed for 2026/27; a UKVI-approved SELT is compulsory

Pre-CAS interviews, deposit, pre-sessional and the Student visa

LJMU's pre-CAS interview page describes a mandatory, recorded credibility interview for students from countries including Bangladesh, India, Nepal and Nigeria, with one resit. Its deposit page asks self-funded international students for £5,000 before a CAS; interview-country students pay £1,000 first and £4,000 after passing. LJMU accepts Nigerian bank statements only from commercial banks, not microfinance banks.

LJMU's online pre-sessional programme, delivered by Study Group for conditional offer holders, runs 12 weeks (£3,600, from IELTS 5.0 or 5.5 with 4.5), 10 weeks (£3,000, 5.0 or 5.5 with 5.0) or 6 weeks (£1,800, 5.5 or 6.0 with 5.5). Entry is with IELTS for UKVI, with alternatives accepted. Dates for 2027 are not yet posted.

For a Student visa, UK Visas and Immigration asks for English at CEFR B2 for degree-level study and B1 below degree level, per gov.uk. At degree level, gov.uk adds, your university can assess your English itself and may ask you to take a different test.

Requirements vary by programme and change between admissions cycles. The score that binds you is the one on your LJMU programme page and in your offer letter, so check it there before you book a test.

Frequently asked questions

Does Liverpool John Moores University accept PTE?+

Yes, PTE Academic or PTE Academic UKVI: 61 with at least 59 in each component for the 6.0 (5.5) level. Scores for higher levels are not stated by LJMU.

Does LJMU accept Duolingo?+

Yes, except from students from countries that require a SELT: 120 with 110 in each skill for IELTS 6.5 (6.0) courses, and 130 with 120 for 7.0 (6.5).

Is LJMU accepting students from Pakistan?+

No. LJMU's Pakistan page says the university will not be accepting applications from Pakistan for 2026/27, and its Bangladesh page says the same for Bangladesh.

Can Indian students study at LJMU without IELTS?+

Yes, with 70% in Standard XII English for IELTS 6.0 courses. LJMU's main and India pages list different state boards, and the India page excludes NIOS, Punjab, Haryana, Chandigarh, Gujarat, Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand.

Does LJMU interview students before the CAS?+

Yes, for students from listed countries including Bangladesh, India, Nepal and Nigeria. They pay £1,000 of the £5,000 deposit first and the remaining £4,000 after passing.

Keep reading

Related

Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.

© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy

Take a free scored IELTS mock