Loyalist English test minimums
Scores are from Loyalist's international admission requirements page. The 6.5 diploma score applies to Early Childhood Education, Developmental Services Worker, Fitness and Health Promotion, and Recreation, Sports and Leisure. TOEFL iBT is 80 with minimums of 20 (550 paper-based) or 84 with minimums of 21 (560 paper-based); a score on the new 1–6 TOEFL scale is not stated by Loyalist.
Other options: CAEL 60 or 70 (Writing 60), Cambridge C1 Advanced or C2 Proficiency, and Oxford ELLT 6 or 7. Loyalist writes "conditions apply" against Duolingo without listing them.
| Level | IELTS Academic | TOEFL iBT | PTE Academic | Duolingo |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificates and diplomas (general) | 6.0, no band under 6.0 | 80 (20 each) | Not listed by Loyalist | 105+, no band below 90 |
| ECE, DSW, Fitness, Recreation diplomas | 6.5, no band below 6.0 | 80 (20 each) | Not listed by Loyalist | 105+, no band below 90 |
| Personal Support Worker | 7.0, no band below 6.5 | 80 (20 each) | Not listed by Loyalist | 105+, no band below 90 |
| Post-graduate and fast-track programs | 6.5, no band below 6.0 | 84 (21 each) | Not listed by Loyalist | 115+, no band below 100 |
PTE, validity and One Skill Retake
PTE Academic does not appear on Loyalist's English test list, so a PTE score is not a stated route; ask admissions@loyalistcollege.com before relying on one. Loyalist's table names IELTS without saying Academic or General Training.
A test validity period, and a position on IELTS One Skill Retake and IELTS Online, are not stated by Loyalist. Detailed admission requirements are on each program page.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Credential assessment for Loyalist
Because your school documents are international, Loyalist may ask for a credential assessment report from ICAS or WES. Transcripts not in English or French need word-for-word English translations.
Study permit and PGWP: separate rules
Loyalist's scores decide admission only. IRCC sets no minimum English score for a study permit; any language condition is written into your letter of acceptance (see IELTS for a Canada study permit). The Post-Graduation Work Permit is a separate test again. IRCC's PGWP eligibility page asks for CLB 7 in all four skills if you graduate with a bachelor's, master's or doctoral degree or from any other university program, and CLB 5 for any other college, polytechnic or non-university program, so a bachelor's degree earned at a college still needs CLB 7. On IELTS General Training, CLB 7 is 6.0 in every skill and CLB 5 is Reading 4.0 and Writing, Listening and Speaking 5.0 (IRCC score table). The PGWP takes IELTS General Training, CELPIP-General or PTE Core, not IELTS Academic, and college programs also face a field-of-study rule if you applied for your study permit on or after 1 November 2024 (see IELTS for the PGWP).
Frequently asked questions
Does Loyalist College accept PTE?+
PTE Academic is not on Loyalist's list of English tests. Its table names TOEFL, IELTS, CAEL, Cambridge, Duolingo and Oxford ELLT.
Does Loyalist accept Duolingo?+
Yes: 105+ with no band lower than 90 for certificates and diplomas, and 115+ with no band lower than 100 for post-graduate and fast-track programs. Loyalist notes that conditions apply.
What IELTS do I need for a Loyalist post-graduate program?+
IELTS 6.5 overall with no band less than 6.0.
Is IELTS 6.0 with a 5.5 band enough for a Loyalist diploma?+
No. Loyalist's general diploma requirement is 6.0 overall with no band under 6.0.
Does the Loyalist IELTS score count for the PGWP?+
No. The college's score is an admission rule on IELTS Academic. For the PGWP, IRCC asks for CLB 7 in every skill after a bachelor's, master's or doctoral degree (a college degree included) and CLB 5 after other college and polytechnic programs, proved with IELTS General Training, CELPIP-General or PTE Core.
Keep reading
Related
- Durham College IELTS requirement
- IELTS band score calculator
- IELTS for Canada
- IELTS for the Canada PGWP
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 6 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy