Oklahoma State English requirements at a glance
Sources: the 2026–2027 Graduate College catalog and the catalog's international undergraduate admissions page. Section minimums are not stated by Oklahoma State.
| Level | IELTS Academic | TOEFL iBT | Duolingo | PTE Academic |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Graduate College (minimum) | 6.5 | 4.0 (old scale 79) | 115 | 53 |
| Undergraduate first-year and transfer | 5.5 | 61 (old scale); new-scale score not stated | 95 | 44 |
Graduate: IELTS 6.5, and conditional admission
Proof must come from an official exam completed within the last two years. Some graduate programs require higher scores, so contact your program. Conditional admission is possible in several programs, on the program's recommendation and the Graduate College dean's agreement, when you are academically qualified but below the English minimum.
A waiver applies to a bachelor's or graduate degree from an accredited institution where English is the primary language of instruction, located in a country where English is a recognised primary language. Oklahoma State publishes no country list and does not say whether India qualifies. Teaching assistants need TOEFL Speaking 26 (5.5 new scale), IELTS Speaking 8.5 or the ITA Exam. See the Graduate College catalog.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Undergraduate: IELTS 5.5 or Duolingo 95
New undergraduates for whom English is a second language present TOEFL 61 (paper 500), IELTS 5.5, PTE Academic 44 or Duolingo 95, taken within the last two years; assured first-year admission pairs these with a 3.0 high school GPA. The test is waived for international students at US high schools who attended an English-speaking school, and for transfers with 24 credit hours from a US or English-speaking institution. See international undergraduate admissions.
Student visa and next steps
The US F-1 student visa sets no English test score of its own. What counts is the requirement Oklahoma State sets for admission, which leads to your Form I-20. For the wider picture of studying in the US with each test, see IELTS for the USA and PTE for the USA.
Requirements change between admission cycles. Check the Oklahoma State Graduate College catalog page again before you book a test, and check your own program page, which can set a higher bar.
Frequently asked questions
What IELTS score do I need for an MS at Oklahoma State?+
IELTS Academic 6.5 is the Graduate College minimum. Some programs require higher scores or other tests.
Does Oklahoma State accept Duolingo and PTE?+
Yes. The graduate minimums are Duolingo 115 and PTE Academic 53; undergraduates need Duolingo 95 or PTE 44.
Can I get conditional admission at Oklahoma State with a low IELTS?+
Possibly. Several graduate programs consider conditional admission for academically qualified applicants below the English minimum, with the Graduate College dean's agreement.
Are Indian students exempt from IELTS at Oklahoma State?+
Oklahoma State does not name India. Its waiver needs an English-medium degree from a country where English is a recognised primary language.
What TOEFL score does Oklahoma State need on the new scale?+
4.0 for graduate admission on tests from 21 January 2026, or 79 on the old scale.
Keep reading
Related
- IELTS for the USA
- TOEFL to IELTS converter
- University of Kansas IELTS requirement
- Texas Tech IELTS requirement
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy