Pratt Institute English requirements at a glance
Sources: Graduate Admissions' international applicants page, which lists every program's minimum, and Undergraduate Admissions' high school applicant requirements. Section minimums are not stated. Advanced certificates follow similar bands; check your certificate's line on the graduate page.
| Level | IELTS Academic | TOEFL iBT | Duolingo | PTE Academic |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Graduate: M.Arch, Architecture MS, Urban Design MS, Landscape Architecture MLA, Historic Preservation MS, Fine Arts MFA, Digital Arts MFA | 6.5 | 79 or 4 | 110 | 53 |
| Graduate: School of Information MS programs, Arts and Cultural Management, Design Management MPS | 6.5 | 82 or 4 | 115 | 53 |
| Graduate: Urban and Community Planning, Sustainable Environmental Systems, Urban Placemaking, Communications Design MFA, Industrial Design MID, Packaging Design MS | 6.5 | 85 or 4 | 115 | 57 |
| Graduate: Photography MFA | 6.5 | 86 or 4.5 | 115 | 53 |
| Graduate: Fashion Collection and Communication MFA | 7.0 | 88 or 4.5 | 115 | 59 |
| Graduate: Interior Design MFA | 7.0 | 88 or 4.5 | 120 | 59 |
| Graduate: Art and Design Education MA, Art Therapy MPS, Dance/Movement Therapy MS, History of Art and Design MA, Media Studies MA, Writing MFA | 7.5 | 100 or 5 | 130 | 68 |
| Undergraduate first-year | 7.0 | 92 or 5 | 125 | 62 |
Graduate: IELTS 6.5 for most programs
Pratt accepts the TOEFL internet test (not MyBest scores), IELTS Academic, Cambridge English, PTE and the Duolingo English Test. Graduate scores must be valid within two years of your intended term's priority deadline, which is 1 October for spring and 5 January for fall. Send scores electronically using school code 2669. See international graduate applicants.
You can get a waiver if you are enrolled in, or finished within the past two years, a bachelor's or master's at a regionally accredited US college, or at "an international school of equivalent standards where the medium of instruction is 100% English". That second route is not limited by country, so a recent degree taught entirely in English may qualify. Citizens of a country with English as a national language whose first language is English are also exempt, and a department can waive the test after an interview. The Art Therapy MPS issues no TOEFL waivers unless English is your first language. Conditional admission is not stated.
Free test: are you at Pratt Institute's score yet?
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock test and get a band for each skill, so you know how far you are from the requirement before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Free test: take an IELTS mock →Practise before you book: free IELTS mock test, IELTS reading practice, IELTS listening practice and IELTS speaking predictions.
Undergraduate: IELTS 7.0 or Duolingo 125
First-year applicants need TOEFL iBT or TOEFL Home Edition 92 (5 on the new 1–6 scale), Duolingo 125, IELTS Academic 7.0, PTE Academic 62 or Cambridge English C1 or C2 at 183. Scores go directly from the testing agency before the deadline and must come from a test taken within two years of your starting term; for Fall 2027, tests on or after August 2025 count. See undergraduate requirements.
You may request a waiver if you studied your last three years of high school in the US, in a country where English is an official national language and the main language of instruction, or at a US-accredited or English-speaking IB World school elsewhere, in good standing. ESL programs and certificates are not accepted, and waivers are at the Office of Admissions' discretion.
Student visa and next steps
The US F-1 student visa sets no English test score of its own. What counts is the requirement Pratt Institute sets for admission, which leads to your Form I-20. For the wider picture of studying in the US with each test, see IELTS for the USA and PTE for the USA.
Requirements change between admission cycles. Check the Pratt international graduate applicants page again before you book a test, and check your own program page, which can set a higher bar.
Minimum vs competitive score
Where Pratt Institute publishes an IELTS score, it is the minimum: the floor an application has to meet to be considered, not a score that guarantees an offer.
Competitive programmes, and courses with far more applicants than places, may expect more than the minimum, and some departments set their own overall or per-skill scores, often for writing or speaking. The course page has the final word, so check it before you book a test.
If you are close to the line, aim for a margin above it: one weak skill can miss the requirement even when the overall band clears it. Not sure where you stand? Take a free IELTS mock test and get a band for each skill.
Frequently asked questions
What IELTS score does Pratt need for a master's?+
IELTS 6.5 for most graduate programs, 7.0 for the Fashion and Interior Design MFAs, and 7.5 for programs such as Art Therapy, Media Studies MA and the Writing MFA.
What IELTS score does Pratt need for undergraduates?+
IELTS Academic 7.0. The other options are TOEFL 92 or 5, Duolingo 125, PTE 62 or Cambridge 183.
Does Pratt accept PTE and Duolingo?+
Yes. Graduate PTE minimums run from 53 to 68 and Duolingo from 110 to 130 depending on the program; undergraduates need PTE 62 or Duolingo 125.
Are Indian students exempt from IELTS at Pratt?+
India is not named. Graduate applicants who finished a degree within the past two years at a school where instruction was 100% English can apply for a waiver, which Pratt reviews.
Does Pratt accept TOEFL MyBest scores?+
No. Pratt does not accept MyBest scores for graduate or undergraduate admission.
Keep reading
Related
- IELTS for the USA
- TOEFL to IELTS converter
- The New School IELTS requirement
- NYU IELTS requirement
- All 1783 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 15 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy