University English requirements

What IELTS score do you need for RCSI (Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland)?

RCSI University of Medicine and Health Sciences in Dublin asks undergraduate medicine applicants whose first language is not English for IELTS 6.5 with no band below 6.0, in a single sitting and less than two years old at admission. Postgraduate applicants need the same IELTS minimum, or PTE Academic 67 or TOEFL iBT 79, unless they studied full-time in English for three years.
  • Checked against official sources · 13 October 2026
  • 3 sections
  • IELTS

RCSI English scores by route

Undergraduate medicine rules are on RCSI's medicine entry requirements page; postgraduate rules on its postgraduate English language requirements page, whose table gives a B2/C1 score range for each test. We show the bottom of each range as the minimum.

TestUndergraduate medicinePostgraduate (B2/C1 range)
IELTS6.5, no band below 6.0, single sitting6.5–7.0 (minimum 6.5, no band below 6.0)
TOEFL iBTEquivalent scores accepted79–93
PTE AcademicNot stated67–84 (not accepted for research courses)
CambridgeNot statedCAE grade A, B or C; CPE at C1 (180–199)
TOEICNot stated605–780

Who is exempt

For postgraduate study the exemption is broad: you do not need a test if you completed your undergraduate or postgraduate studies full-time in English for three or more years, cumulatively. RCSI does not limit this to particular countries, so a three-year English-medium degree from India or Pakistan should qualify; get a medium-of-instruction letter from your university.

For undergraduate medicine, applicants presenting programmes delivered entirely in English, such as the International Baccalaureate or A Levels, do not need an IELTS certificate with their first application, though A Level applicants must hold GCSE English at grade 4/C or above.

Free test: are you at RCSI's score yet?

Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock test and get a band for each skill, so you know how far you are from the requirement before you book the real test. Free account, no card.

Free test: take an IELTS mock →

Practise before you book: free IELTS mock test, IELTS reading practice, IELTS listening practice and IELTS speaking predictions.

Tests RCSI does not accept

RCSI's postgraduate page lists tests it does not accept because they test below C1 or do not test academic English, including Cambridge FCE, PTE General levels 1 to 3 and Trinity ISE I and II. Its IELTS row says the online IELTS Indicator was included. Duolingo is not listed, and the medicine page does not mention IELTS One Skill Retake.

Non-EU places for undergraduate medicine are set separately: RCSI lists 90 EU and 220 non-EU places for the five- and six-year MB BCh BAO starting September 2027.

Requirements vary by programme and change between admissions cycles. The score that binds you is the one on your RCSI programme page and in your offer, so check it there before you book a test.

Minimum vs competitive score

Where RCSI (Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland) publishes an IELTS score, it is the minimum: the floor an application has to meet to be considered, not a score that guarantees an offer.

Competitive programmes, and courses with far more applicants than places, may expect more than the minimum, and some departments set their own overall or per-skill scores, often for writing or speaking. The course page has the final word, so check it before you book a test.

If you are close to the line, aim for a margin above it: one weak skill can miss the requirement even when the overall band clears it. Not sure where you stand? Take a free IELTS mock test and get a band for each skill.

Frequently asked questions

What IELTS does RCSI need for medicine?+

IELTS 6.5 overall with no band (reading, writing, listening or speaking) below 6.0, taken in a single sitting and less than two years old at admission.

Does RCSI accept PTE?+

For taught postgraduate courses, yes: its table puts PTE Academic at 67–84 for B2/C1. PTE is not accepted for postgraduate research courses.

Do Indian students need IELTS for an RCSI master's?+

Not if they completed three or more years of full-time study in English. RCSI's postgraduate exemption is not limited to particular countries.

Does RCSI accept Duolingo?+

Duolingo is not listed among RCSI's accepted English tests.

Keep reading

Related

Verified against the linked official sources on 13 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.

© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy

Free test: take an IELTS mock