Written byFizza Butool ZaidiIELTS teacher for 10+ years, PTE for 5Updated 2 November 2026
RUB PTE Academic minimums by programme
From the ETIT master's application page, the Computational Engineering admission page and the Lasers and Photonics application page. None gives a per-skill PTE minimum.
| Programme or band | PTE overall | Minimum per skill |
|---|---|---|
| M.Sc. Electrical Engineering and Information Technology (B2) | 55 | Not stated |
| M.Sc. Computational Engineering | 55 | Not stated |
| M.Sc. Lasers and Photonics | 55 (may be considered equivalent) | Not stated |
Test rules and the IELTS comparison
The pages do not mention PTE Academic Online, PTE Core, a validity period or a Pearson sending method. Lasers and Photonics says PTE Academic and the Oxford Test of English "may be considered" equivalent, and that no other certificates beyond its list will be accepted.
The ETIT page lists IELTS Academic 6 and TOEFL iBT 85 (4.5 from 2026) next to PTE 55. Computational Engineering asks IELTS 6.0 with at least 6.0 in all four sub-categories.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored PTE mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free mock →Practise before you book: free PTE mock test, PTE predictions, PTE Core practice test and PTE to IELTS converter.
If your PTE score falls short
For the ETIT master's, applicants to English-taught specialisations can submit the certificate by enrolment, while German-taught or bilingual specialisations may get provisional admission with conditions and must submit it within the first semester. RUB's own intensive course certificate (B2 to B2/C1) is also listed. Medium of instruction certificates are not accepted.
Requirements vary by programme and change between admissions cycles. The score that binds you is the one on your RUB programme page and in your offer letter, so check it there before you book a test.
Frequently asked questions
What PTE score does Ruhr University Bochum need?+
PTE Academic 55 on the engineering master's pages we read.
What IELTS equals PTE 55 at RUB?+
The same pages ask for IELTS Academic 6.0; Computational Engineering also wants 6.0 in each sub-category.
Does RUB accept a medium of instruction letter?+
No. The ETIT and Lasers and Photonics pages say medium of instruction certificates are not accepted.
Can I send my PTE later?+
For English-taught ETIT specialisations, you can submit it by enrolment; your application stays incomplete until then.
Keep reading
Related
- Ruhr University Bochum IELTS requirement
- Ruhr University Bochum TOEFL requirement
- PTE for Germany
- RWTH Aachen PTE requirement
- All 5495 guides
Guide updated on 2 November 2026. Individual prices and policies may have earlier observation dates. Confirm current details on the linked official pages before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy