University English requirements

What IELTS score does Saint Mary's University in Halifax require?

Saint Mary's University in Halifax asks undergraduates for IELTS Academic 6.5 with no individual score below 6.0, PTE 58 or Duolingo 115. The graduate minimum is also IELTS 6.5 with no band below 6.0, with PTE 60 and Duolingo 125. The MBA, Technology Entrepreneurship and several PhDs need IELTS 7.0 with no band below 6.5, and graduate scores older than two years are refused.
  • Checked against official sources · 8 October 2026
  • 4 sections
  • IELTS

Saint Mary's English test minimums

Undergraduate scores are from SMU's language requirements page; graduate scores are from the Faculty of Graduate Studies and Research language requirements page and its linked program-by-program IELTS and TOEFL list, dated July 2024. TOEFL taken after January 2026 needs 4.5 in Listening and no other band below 4.0 at both levels; program TOEFL figures on the new scale are not stated by SMU.

Undergraduates can also use the IELTS Online Indicator Test at 6.5, CAEL 60 with no score below 50, Cambridge 176 with no score below 169, or Trinity ISE 96 with 90 in each skill. Graduate alternatives are CAEL 60, CanTEST 4.5 and Cambridge 176. The graduate page also lists the Master of Applied Economics as a higher-requirement program, while the July 2024 list shows it at IELTS 6.5, so confirm with the program.

LevelIELTS AcademicTOEFL iBTPTE AcademicDuolingo
Undergraduate6.5, no score below 6.0Listening 4.5, others 4.0; or 83 (20 each)58115, no sub-score below 95
Graduate (university minimum)6.5, no score below 6.0Listening 4.5, others 4.0; or 83 (20 each)60, no sub-score below 50125, no sub-score below 105
MBA and MBA (CPA Stream)7.0, no band below 6.5100, no band below 2066, no sub-score below 60130, no sub-score below 110
Master of Technology Entrepreneurship and Innovation7.0, no band below 6.592, no band below 2066, no sub-score below 60130, no sub-score below 110

Validity and graduate waivers

Graduate scores older than two years are not acceptable, and all scores must come from one exam date, not combined with other dates; IELTS One Skill Retake is not mentioned by name. Upload the test taker copy so SMU can validate it. University English preparation courses from other institutions do not satisfy the graduate requirement. An undergraduate validity period is not stated by SMU.

Graduate applicants from a country not on SMU's exemption list, which does not include India or Pakistan, are exempt with a recognised degree of at least three full-time years taught solely in English plus a certified letter from the Registrar confirming English as the sole language of instruction. Undergraduates are exempt with graduation from an English-language secondary school.

Know your target? Check where you stand

Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.

Take a free scored IELTS mock →

Undergraduate pathway schools

Undergraduates can also meet the requirement by completing a university preparatory English program at one of SMU's recognised Languages Canada schools, including the Canadian Language Learning College, Halifax Language Institute of Canada and International Language Institute. Completing one earns six credit hours of advanced standing toward an SMU degree.

Study permit and PGWP: separate rules

Saint Mary's's scores decide admission only. IRCC sets no minimum English score for a study permit; any language condition is written into your letter of acceptance (see IELTS for a Canada study permit). The Post-Graduation Work Permit is a separate test again. IRCC's PGWP eligibility page asks for CLB 7 in all four skills if you graduate with a bachelor's, master's or doctoral degree, and CLB 7 too if you graduate from "any other university program", which must also be in an eligible field of study if you applied for your study permit on or after 1 November 2024. The lower CLB 5 applies only to college, polytechnic and other non-university programs. On IELTS General Training, CLB 7 is 6.0 in each skill (IRCC score table). The PGWP takes IELTS General Training, CELPIP-General or PTE Core, not IELTS Academic (see IELTS for the PGWP).

Frequently asked questions

Does Saint Mary's University accept PTE?+

Yes. PTE 58 for undergraduates, 60 with no sub-score below 50 for most graduate programs, and 66 with no sub-score below 60 for the MBA, MTEI and several doctoral programs.

Does Saint Mary's accept Duolingo?+

Yes. 115 with no sub-score below 95 for undergraduates, 125 with no sub-score below 105 for most graduate programs, and 130 for the higher-requirement programs.

What IELTS does the Saint Mary's MBA need?+

IELTS 7.0 with no band below 6.5, according to SMU's program-by-program list, or PTE 66 or Duolingo 130 under the graduate language page.

Can I skip the IELTS for a master's at Saint Mary's with an Indian degree?+

Yes, if the degree had at least three full-time years taught solely in English and you send a certified Registrar's letter confirming that.

Does the Saint Mary's IELTS score count for the PGWP?+

No. The university's score is an admission rule on IELTS Academic. For the PGWP, IRCC asks university graduates, of degree and other university programs alike, for CLB 7 in every skill, proved with IELTS General Training, CELPIP-General or PTE Core.

Keep reading

Related

Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.

© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy

Take a free scored IELTS mock