University English requirements

What IELTS score do you need for Santa Clara University?

Santa Clara University sets one English bar for most graduate programs: IELTS 6.5, TOEFL 4.5 on the new 1–6 scale, or Duolingo 110, with no section minimums stated. Law (JD and LLM) needs Duolingo 120. Undergraduates need IELTS 6.5, TOEFL 4.5 (90 before 21 January 2026) or Duolingo 120. SCU accepts only TOEFL, IELTS and Duolingo, so PTE is not accepted.
  • Checked against official sources · 8 October 2026
  • 4 sections
  • IELTS

Santa Clara English requirements at a glance

Sources: SCU's university-wide English Proficiency Requirement policy (last updated 10 April 2026), the School of Engineering's graduate admissions page and Undergraduate Admission's English proficiency page. Section minimums are not stated by Santa Clara.

LevelIELTS AcademicTOEFL iBTDuolingoPTE Academic
Graduate: Business, Engineering, Education & Counseling Psychology, Theology, Pastoral Ministries6.54.5; old-scale score not stated110Not accepted
Graduate: Law (JD and LLM)6.54.5; old-scale score not stated120Not accepted
Undergraduate6.54.5 (90 if taken before 21 January 2026)120Not accepted

Graduate: IELTS 6.5 across schools, and no MOI waiver

SCU accepts TOEFL iBT, IELTS and Duolingo. It does not accept TOEFL MyBest scores, the TOEFL iBT Special Home Edition, IELTS Indicator, IELTS Online or the TOEFL ITP Plus test offered in China. Scores are accepted up to two years before the application deadline and must come from the testing agency. Graduate Business says an interview is required for some programs. See the SCU policy.

The only graduate waiver is a degree earned within the last four years in Australia, Anglophone Canada, Ireland, New Zealand, the UK or the US, where the sole language of instruction was English. India is not on that list, so an Indian degree does not waive the test. The Engineering page repeats TOEFL 4.5, IELTS 6.5 and Duolingo 110, but its FAQ says scores are valid for up to five years, which does not match the university's two-year rule; confirm with Engineering. Conditional admission is not stated by Santa Clara.

Know your target? Check where you stand

Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.

Take a free scored IELTS mock →

Undergraduate: English-medium schooling can count

Undergraduates can meet the requirement with IELTS 6.5, TOEFL 90 (before 21 January 2026) or 4.5 (after), Duolingo 120, SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing 630, or ACT Reading 27 and English 27. Unlike graduate admission, four years at a secondary school where English was the sole language of instruction also counts, even in a non-anglophone country. MyBest, Special Home Edition and TOEFL Essentials are not accepted. See undergraduate English proficiency.

Student visa and next steps

The US F-1 student visa sets no English test score of its own. What counts is the requirement Santa Clara University sets for admission, which leads to your Form I-20. For the wider picture of studying in the US with each test, see IELTS for the USA and PTE for the USA.

Requirements change between admission cycles. Check the Santa Clara English Proficiency Requirement page again before you book a test, and check your own program page, which can set a higher bar.

Frequently asked questions

What IELTS score do I need for an MS at Santa Clara University?+

IELTS 6.5 for every listed graduate school, including Engineering and Business. TOEFL 4.5 or Duolingo 110 are the alternatives.

Does Santa Clara University accept PTE?+

No. SCU accepts the TOEFL iBT, IELTS and Duolingo, and does not list PTE.

Can Indian students get an English waiver at Santa Clara for a master's?+

No. The graduate waiver covers degrees from Australia, Anglophone Canada, Ireland, New Zealand, the UK or the US only. India is not on the list.

Does Santa Clara accept IELTS Online?+

No. SCU does not accept IELTS Online or IELTS Indicator, nor TOEFL MyBest scores or the TOEFL iBT Special Home Edition.

What Duolingo score does Santa Clara need?+

110 for most graduate programs, and 120 for Law (JD and LLM) and for undergraduates.

Keep reading

Related

Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.

© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy

Take a free scored IELTS mock