Sheffield Hallam IELTS on course pages
Sheffield Hallam gives each course's requirement as an IELTS score in its entry requirements. These course pages were read on 6 October 2026.
| Course | Level | IELTS |
|---|---|---|
| Computer Science BSc | Undergraduate | 6.0, minimum 5.5 in all skills |
| Business and Management BA | Undergraduate | 6.0, minimum 5.5 in all skills |
| Big Data Analytics MSc | Postgraduate | 6.0, 5.5 in all skills |
| International Business Management MSc | Postgraduate | 6.5, minimum 6.0 in all skills |
PTE, Duolingo and other equivalents
From Sheffield Hallam's English language requirements page. It advises taking IELTS for UKVI if you take IELTS and need a Student visa. Duolingo sub-scores can be met through the individual skills shown, or 95 in each integrated subscore. Whether IELTS Online, One Skill Retake or the online PTE are accepted is not stated by Sheffield Hallam.
| Test | IELTS 6.0 (5.5) courses | IELTS 6.5 (5.5) courses | IELTS 7.0 courses |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pearson | 64, min 59 in each skill | 69, min 59 in each skill | 76 |
| Duolingo | 105; Reading 100, others 95 | 120; Reading 100, others 95 | 130 |
| TOEFL iBT (incl. Special Home Edition) | 67; L 12, S 17, R 12, W 14 | 81; L 12, S 17, R 12, W 14 | 91 |
| Oxford ELLT | 6, min 5 in each skill | 7, min 5 in each skill | 8 |
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Indian, Nigerian and other applicants
For direct applications, Sheffield Hallam says it may accept Indian 12th Standard, WAEC (Nigeria only) and NECO (Nigeria only) instead of a SELT, at the IELTS level your course needs, but not for every course, for example its Health courses. Its India page says 70% in Standard XII English may be considered equivalent to IELTS 6.0. Its Nigeria page accepts WASSCE English at C6 in place of IELTS 6.0 (5.5). The Pakistan and Nepal pages give no school-English route, so these are not stated by Sheffield Hallam.
Below degree level, pre-sessional and the Student visa
Courses at level 5 and below need a UKVI-approved SELT. For direct applicants who do not yet meet the English requirement, Sheffield Hallam recognises the Oxford International Digital Institute online pre-sessional English course; a pre-sessional run by Sheffield Hallam itself is not stated on the pages read.
Sheffield Hallam's visa page says it issues a CAS after you pay a tuition fee deposit, and that you might be asked to do a credibility interview.
For a Student visa, UK Visas and Immigration asks for English at CEFR B2 for degree-level study and B1 below degree level, per gov.uk. At degree level, gov.uk adds, your university can assess your English itself and may ask you to take a different test.
Requirements vary by programme and change between admissions cycles. The score that binds you is the one on your Sheffield Hallam programme page and in your offer letter, so check it there before you book a test.
Frequently asked questions
Does Sheffield Hallam accept PTE?+
Yes: 64 with 59 in each skill for IELTS 6.0 (5.5) courses, 69 with 59 for 6.5 (5.5) courses, and 76 for 7.0 courses.
Does Sheffield Hallam accept Duolingo?+
Yes: 105 for IELTS 6.0 courses, 120 for 6.5 and 130 for 7.0, with at least 95 in Listening, Speaking and Writing and 100 in Reading at the 6.0 and 6.5 levels.
Can Indian students study at Sheffield Hallam without IELTS?+
Possibly. For direct applications Sheffield Hallam may accept Indian 12th Standard English, and its India page says 70% may be considered equivalent to IELTS 6.0. Health courses are excluded.
What IELTS do I need for a master's at Sheffield Hallam?+
It depends on the course: Big Data Analytics MSc asks for 6.0 with 5.5, and International Business Management MSc 6.5 with 6.0 in all skills.
Do I need IELTS for UKVI for Sheffield Hallam?+
Sheffield Hallam advises taking IELTS for UKVI if you need a Student visa, and requires a SELT for courses at level 5 and below.
Keep reading
Related
- University of Sheffield IELTS requirement
- Manchester Metropolitan University IELTS requirement
- PTE vs IELTS for a UK visa
- Free IELTS mock test with AI band score
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 6 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy