Staffordshire's levels by test
From the university's language requirements page, which gives one standard level, CEFR B2, and says course pages can ask for more. It does not split undergraduate and postgraduate; its country pages say postgraduate levels are on each course page. Tests are valid for two years. IELTS for UKVI, the IELTS Indicator and research-degree levels are not stated, and country school qualifications may not count for courses above B2.
| Test | Most courses (IELTS 6.0, 5.5) |
|---|---|
| IELTS Academic or One Skill Retake (IELTS Online not accepted) | 6.0, minimum 5.5 in each component |
| PTE Academic (PTE Academic Online not accepted) | 59, no less than 54 in all areas |
| Duolingo English Test | 105; writing 100, other components 95 |
| TOEFL iBT or Home Edition (from 21 January 2026) | 4; reading 3.5, writing, listening and speaking 3 |
| LanguageCert Academic SELT | 65, no less than 60 in each component |
| Oxford ELLT | 6, with 5 in all skills |
Staffordshire IELTS on course pages
These course pages were read on 8 October 2026; none states a PTE score. Adult nursing lists an international fee with January 2027 and September 2027 starts. The Computer Science MSc page still quotes the old paper-based TOEFL 550, unlike the central table, and the Computer Science BSc page refers international applicants to the country pages.
| Course | Level | IELTS |
|---|---|---|
| Computer Science BSc | Undergraduate | No IELTS on page (country pages: 6.0, 5.5) |
| Nursing Practice (Adult) BSc | Undergraduate | IELTS 7 (no component minimum on page) |
| Business Administration MBA | Postgraduate | 6.0, no component lower than 5.5 |
| Computer Science MSc | Postgraduate | 6 (component minimum not stated) |
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Indian, Nigerian and other South Asian applicants
The India page asks for Standard XII with 65% overall and 65% in English, from CBSE, CISCE and ten named state boards; students from other boards must provide other evidence, such as IELTS. The result is valid for 8 years. The Nigeria page accepts WAEC or NECO (post 1998) English at A1 to C6, valid 10 years.
The Pakistan, Nepal and Bangladesh pages list no school-English waiver, and medium of instruction letters are not stated.
| Qualification | Staffordshire requirement |
|---|---|
| Standard XII English: CBSE or CISCE | 65% in English and 65% overall; valid 8 years |
| Standard XII English: Delhi, Maharashtra, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Madhya Pradesh, Gujarat, West Bengal | 65% in English and 65% overall; valid 8 years |
| Standard XII English: other boards | Not accepted; IELTS or other evidence needed |
| WAEC or NECO English (post 1998) | A1 to C6; valid 10 years |
| Pakistan HSSC, Nepal NEB, Bangladesh HSC English | Not stated by Staffordshire |
Deposit, credibility interviews, deadlines and the Student visa
Its country pages ask a £4,000 deposit for full-time on-campus courses, "usually non-refundable", and say "the University reserves the right to close admissions early." Its credibility interview page says you may need a pre-CAS or credibility interview through Enroly CAS Shield and warns: "Do not use memorised scripts or agency-provided templates." The how to apply page showed only September 2026 deadlines when read; January 2027 deadlines and recruitment pauses are not stated.
Its 2025 admissions policy says some applicants must complete a pre-sessional English course before enrolling, but no course length, price or date is published on the university's pages.
For a Student visa, UK Visas and Immigration asks for English at CEFR B2 for degree-level study and B1 below degree level, per gov.uk. At degree level, gov.uk adds, your university can assess your English itself and may ask you to take a different test.
Requirements vary by programme and change between admissions cycles. The score that binds you is the one on your Staffordshire programme page and in your offer letter, so check it there before you book a test.
Frequently asked questions
Does Staffordshire University accept PTE?+
Yes: 59 overall with no less than 54 in all areas, valid for two years. PTE Academic Online (Home Version) is not accepted.
Does Staffordshire accept IELTS Online?+
No. Its language requirements page says it does not accept the IELTS Online test, though it accepts One Skill Retake at 6.0 with 5.5 in each component.
Does Staffordshire accept Duolingo?+
Yes: 105 overall with at least 100 in writing and no other component below 95, valid for two years.
Can Indian students study at Staffordshire without IELTS?+
Yes, with 65% overall and 65% in English in Standard XII from CBSE, CISCE or ten named state boards. Students from other boards need IELTS or other evidence.
Does Staffordshire interview students before the CAS?+
It may ask for a pre-CAS or credibility interview through Enroly CAS Shield and warns against memorised scripts or agency templates. The deposit is £4,000.
Keep reading
Related
- Keele University IELTS requirement
- University of Derby IELTS requirement
- IELTS One Skill Retake explained
- IELTS for UK universities
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy