Written byFizza Butool ZaidiIELTS teacher for 10+ years, PTE for 5Updated 2 November 2026
Sunway PTE Academic minimums by programme
From the Bachelor (Honours) in Finance, Master of Science in Psychology and Jeffrey Sachs Center graduate study pages.
| Programme or band | PTE overall | Minimum per skill |
|---|---|---|
| Bachelor (Honours) in Finance | 50 | 46 in each skill |
| Master of Science in Psychology | 50 | Not stated |
| Jeffrey Sachs Center graduate programmes | 50 | Not stated |
Test rules and the IELTS comparison
The pages do not mention PTE Academic Online, PTE Core, a validity period or a Pearson sending method. The Jeffrey Sachs Center lists an IELTS, TOEFL or PTE score report among its application documents.
The Finance and Psychology pages ask for IELTS 6.0, and the Jeffrey Sachs Center lists IELTS 6.0 (CEFR B2). The BSc International Business page lists IELTS 6.0 but not PTE.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored PTE mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free mock →Practise before you book: free PTE mock test, PTE predictions, PTE Core practice test and PTE to IELTS converter.
If your PTE score falls short
The Jeffrey Sachs Center page says that if a student does not meet the requirement, the institution offers English proficiency courses so that the student's English meets the needs of the programme. MUET Band 4 is another accepted route on these pages.
Requirements vary by programme and change between admissions cycles. The score that binds you is the one on your Sunway programme page and in your offer letter, so check it there before you book a test.
Frequently asked questions
What PTE score does Sunway University need?+
PTE Academic 50 overall on the programme pages that list PTE.
Is there a per-skill PTE minimum at Sunway?+
The Finance page asks for 46 in each skill; the Psychology and Jeffrey Sachs Center pages give an overall 50 only.
What IELTS equals PTE 50 at Sunway?+
The same pages ask for IELTS 6.0.
Does every Sunway programme accept PTE?+
Not every page lists it; the BSc International Business page names IELTS, MUET and SPM only.
Keep reading
Related
- Sunway University IELTS requirement
- How long PTE scores are valid
- PTE score calculator
- Free PTE mock test with AI scoring
- All 5495 guides
Guide updated on 2 November 2026. Individual prices and policies may have earlier observation dates. Confirm current details on the linked official pages before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy