University English requirements

What IELTS score do you need for Syracuse University?

Syracuse University has no single graduate IELTS minimum: each school sets its own. Whitman's full-time MS programs need IELTS 7.0, TOEFL 100 or Duolingo 130, and iSchool master's students below IELTS 7.0 or TOEFL 100 take an extra communication course. Engineering and Computer Science accepts only TOEFL, IELTS or Duolingo. Undergraduates should have IELTS 6.5 or more. India is not on the exempt lists.
  • Checked against official sources · 6 October 2026
  • 4 sections
  • IELTS

Syracuse English requirements at a glance

Syracuse's international graduate requirements say to check your program's own list. Sources: the College of Engineering and Computer Science (ECS) application requirements, the iSchool MS Information Systems checklist, Whitman's full-time MS admissions and the international undergraduate requirements. Score validity is not stated by Syracuse.

LevelIELTS AcademicTOEFL iBTDuolingoPTE Academic
Graduate, ECS (engineering and computer science)Minimum not stated; 6.5 for the 12-month master'sNot stated; 80 for the 12-month master'sNot stated; 105 for the 12-month master'sNot accepted
Graduate, iSchool master'sNo minimum stated; below 7.0 adds IST 678No minimum stated; below 100 adds IST 678Accepted; score not statedNot accepted
Graduate, Whitman full-time MS7.0 (Speaking 7.0 preferred)100 (Speaking 23 preferred)130Not listed
Undergraduate, most colleges (preferred)6.5+4.5 (old scale 85+)125+Accepted; score not stated
Undergraduate, Whitman, Architecture, Newhouse (preferred)7.0+5 (old scale 90+, Newhouse 102+)125+ (Newhouse 130+)Accepted; score not stated

Graduate: engineering, iSchool and Whitman

ECS requires TOEFL, IELTS or Duolingo, from one test only. Its main page states no minimum score; the average TOEFL of admitted MS students is 95, and its 12-month Syracuse International Engineering master's lists TOEFL 80, IELTS 6.5 and Duolingo 105. Applicants from listed countries such as Australia, Canada (except Quebec), Ghana, Kenya, Nigeria, the Philippines, Singapore and the UK are exempt; India is not listed. After a year of higher education in the US, UK, Canada or Australia you can request an exemption, and a US advanced degree waives the test. See ECS requirements.

The iSchool accepts TOEFL, IELTS or Duolingo and requires students below TOEFL 100 or IELTS 7.0 to take IST 678, Communication for Information Professionals, unless an on-arrival assessment shows they do not need it. Whitman's full-time MS programs set TOEFL 100, IELTS 7.0 and Duolingo 130 as minimums. See the iSchool checklist and Whitman admissions.

Know your target? Check where you stand

Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.

Take a free scored IELTS mock →

Undergraduate: preferred scores and conditional offers

First-year and transfer applicants whose first language is not English submit TOEFL (At Home included), IELTS, Cambridge, PTE or Duolingo; TOEFL Essentials, TOEFL MyBest and IELTS Indicator are not accepted. Syracuse publishes preferred scores by college but no PTE figure. Waivers are at the committee's discretion, with automatic processing after three years at a US high school or 24 in-person US college credits at a 3.0 GPA. See undergraduate requirements.

An admitted student who misses the composite score or the University's subscore requirements can be conditionally admitted and meet the condition through Syracuse's English Language Institute or a new test score. See conditional admission.

Student visa and next steps

The US F-1 student visa sets no English test score of its own. What counts is the requirement Syracuse sets for admission, which leads to your Form I-20. For the wider picture of studying in the US with each test, see IELTS for the USA and PTE for the USA.

Requirements change between admission cycles. Check the Syracuse international graduate requirements page again before you book a test, and check your own program page, which can set a higher bar.

Frequently asked questions

What IELTS score do I need for an MS at Syracuse?+

It depends on the school. Whitman's full-time MS programs need IELTS 7.0; iSchool master's students below 7.0 take an extra communication course; ECS lists 6.5 for its 12-month master's but states no general minimum.

Does Syracuse accept PTE for graduate admission?+

Not in Engineering and Computer Science or the iSchool, which accept TOEFL, IELTS or Duolingo only. PTE is accepted for undergraduate admission.

Are Indian students exempt from Syracuse's English test?+

India is not on ECS's list of countries that do not require English scores. A year of higher education in the US, UK, Canada or Australia lets you request an exemption.

What Duolingo score does Syracuse need?+

Whitman's full-time MS needs 130 and ECS's 12-month master's lists 105. Undergraduates should have 125 or more (130 for Newhouse).

Can I get conditional admission at Syracuse?+

Yes. If you miss the required composite or subscores, Syracuse can admit you conditionally and you can meet the condition through its English Language Institute or a new test score.

Keep reading

Related

Verified against the linked official sources on 6 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.

© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy

Take a free scored IELTS mock