University English requirements

What IELTS score do you need for UC Santa Cruz?

UC Santa Cruz requires a minimum overall IELTS Academic score of 7 for graduate admission. TOEFL iBT minimums are 4.0 (83 on the old scale) for most programs and 4.5 (89) for Computer Science and Engineering, Electrical and Computer Engineering and other listed programs. Duolingo and PTE are not listed. India is not named for exemption. Undergraduates need IELTS 6.5, TOEFL 4.5 or Duolingo 115.
  • Checked against official sources · 8 October 2026
  • 4 sections
  • IELTS

UC Santa Cruz English requirements at a glance

Sources: Graduate Admissions' test score requirements and international applicant information, and UC Admissions' English language proficiency page. Graduate TOEFL and IELTS scores expire after two years, and only valid scores are considered. Section minimums for admission are not stated by UCSC.

LevelIELTS AcademicTOEFL iBTDuolingoPTE Academic
Graduate (most programs)74.0 (old scale 83)Not listedNot listed
Graduate (CSE, ECE, NLP and other listed programs)74.5 (old scale 89)Not listedNot listed
Undergraduate (UC-wide minimum)6.54.5 (old scale 80)115Not accepted

Graduate: IELTS 7, and the admitted-applicant waiver

The 4.5 TOEFL bar applies to Biomolecular Engineering and Bioinformatics, Chemistry and Biochemistry, CB3, Computational Media, Computer Science and Engineering, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Natural Language Processing and Statistical Sciences; the pre-2026 list at 89 also includes Applied Mathematics. IELTS Academic is accepted in person or online, and scores must be reported electronically. UCSC's page covers only the TOEFL and the IELTS. Teaching assistants need TOEFL Speaking 5.0 (26 before 2026) or IELTS Speaking 8. Conditional admission is not stated.

Applicants who completed a four-year bachelor's degree at an English-speaking institution may request a waiver in the English Proficiency section of the application, but UCSC issues waivers only to admitted applicants. India is not named. UCSC adds that three-year Indian degrees also need a postgraduate diploma, a PGDM or a master's, and admitted Indian graduates send a WES ICAP evaluation. See the test score requirements and international information.

Know your target? Check where you stand

Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.

Take a free scored IELTS mock →

Undergraduate: UC-wide IELTS 6.5 or Duolingo 115

UC Santa Cruz undergraduates follow the University of California's systemwide rule. First-years who completed all secondary school where English is not the language of instruction show proficiency by December of their final year with IELTS 6.5, TOEFL iBT 4.5 (80 before January 2026), Duolingo 115, ACT English Language Arts 24, SAT Writing and Language 31, AP or IB English, or a C in a UC-transferable English composition course. PTE is not on the list. UC does not accept IELTS One Skill Retake or TOEFL MyBest, a campus may require a higher score, and scores must still be valid when you send them after admission. See UC English language proficiency.

Student visa and next steps

The US F-1 student visa sets no English test score of its own. What counts is the requirement UC Santa Cruz sets for admission, which leads to your Form I-20. For the wider picture of studying in the US with each test, see IELTS for the USA and PTE for the USA.

Requirements change between admission cycles. Check the UCSC test score requirements page again before you book a test, and check your own program page, which can set a higher bar.

Frequently asked questions

What IELTS score do I need for an MS at UC Santa Cruz?+

A minimum overall IELTS Academic score of 7, for every graduate program. Scores expire after two years.

What TOEFL score does UCSC need for Computer Science?+

4.5 on the 2026 scale, or 89 before 2026, for Computer Science and Engineering. Most other programs need 4.0, or 83 on the old scale.

Does UC Santa Cruz accept Duolingo or PTE for graduate admission?+

Neither is listed. UCSC's graduate test score page covers only the TOEFL and the IELTS. Duolingo 115 counts for undergraduate admission under the UC-wide rule.

Can Indian students get an English waiver at UCSC?+

India is not named. Applicants with a four-year bachelor's from an English-speaking institution may request a waiver, which UCSC issues only after an offer of admission.

Does UCSC accept a three-year Indian bachelor's degree?+

Only if you also hold a postgraduate diploma in the same field, a PGDM or a master's degree.

Keep reading

Related

Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.

© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy

Take a free scored IELTS mock