UConn English requirements at a glance
Sources: the Graduate School's admission requirements and Undergraduate Admissions' international first-year page. Section minimums are not stated by UConn. Graduate TOEFL, IELTS, PTE and Duolingo scores are valid for two years from the test date to the date you submit your application.
| Level | IELTS Academic | TOEFL iBT | Duolingo | PTE Academic |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Graduate (Graduate School minimum) | 6.5 | 4.5 (old scale 79) | 110 | 60 |
| Undergraduate first-year | 6.5 | 4.5 (old scale 79) | 110 | 60 |
Graduate: IELTS 6.5, and the English-medium degree waiver
Online IELTS and PTE Academic Online are accepted; IELTS One Skill Retake, IELTS Indicator, TOEFL Essentials and TOEFL MyBest scores are not. Self-reported scores are unofficial, so official scores must come directly from the testing agency. A Proficiency Certificate from UConn's American English Language Institute (UCAELI) also meets the requirement. Graduate conditional admission is not stated by UConn.
For applications to the Spring 2027 term and beyond, you need no score if your degree from an institution outside the US was taught in English for the entire degree, shown by a letter from the Registrar's or Controller of Exam's office, or after a year of graded full-time US study with a 3.0 GPA. Teaching assistants must still pass an oral English test. UConn does not treat three-year Indian bachelor's degrees as equivalent to a US bachelor's. See admission requirements.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Undergraduate: IELTS 6.5 or PTE 60
First-year applicants submit TOEFL 4.5 (79 out of 120), IELTS 6.5, Duolingo 110, LanguageCert Academic 70 or PTE Academic 60. Waivers include SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing 510, ACT 24 in English, Reading and Composite, IB Higher Level English 5, or two years at a US secondary school. Admissible students below the bar may be offered conditional admission through UCAELI. See international first-year applicants.
Student visa and next steps
The US F-1 student visa sets no English test score of its own. What counts is the requirement UConn sets for admission, which leads to your Form I-20. For the wider picture of studying in the US with each test, see IELTS for the USA and PTE for the USA.
Requirements change between admission cycles. Check the UConn Graduate School admission requirements page again before you book a test, and check your own program page, which can set a higher bar.
Frequently asked questions
What IELTS score do I need for an MS at UConn?+
IELTS 6.5 is the Graduate School minimum. Online IELTS is accepted, but IELTS One Skill Retake is not.
Can Indian students skip IELTS at UConn?+
From the Spring 2027 term, yes if your whole degree was taught in English and your Registrar or Controller of Exams confirms the medium of instruction. UConn does not name India.
Does UConn accept PTE and Duolingo?+
Yes. The minimums are PTE 60 and Duolingo 110 for both graduate and undergraduate admission.
What TOEFL score does UConn need on the new scale?+
4.5 on the new scale, or 79 on the old 0–120 scale. TOEFL MyBest scores and TOEFL Essentials are not accepted.
How long are scores valid for UConn?+
Two years, counted from the original test date to the date you submit your UConn graduate application.
Keep reading
Related
- IELTS for the USA
- TOEFL to IELTS converter
- UMass Amherst IELTS requirement
- Yale IELTS requirement
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy