University English requirements

What IELTS score do you need for UMass Boston?

UMass Boston sets graduate minimums by program. Most programs need IELTS Academic 6.0, TOEFL 4 (79 on the old scale), PTE Academic 53 or Duolingo 105, while the College of Management and several MA programs need IELTS 6.5 or PTE 61. India is not on the list of countries whose study counts. Undergraduates need IELTS 6.0, TOEFL 4 or Duolingo 105.
  • Checked against official sources · 8 October 2026
  • 4 sections
  • IELTS

UMass Boston English requirements at a glance

Sources: Graduate Admissions' international graduate applicants page and Undergraduate Admissions' international first-year page. Section minimums and score validity are not stated by UMass Boston. TOEFL old-scale scores apply to tests taken on or before 21 January 2026.

LevelIELTS AcademicTOEFL iBTDuolingoPTE Academic
Graduate, most programs6.04 (old scale 79)10553
Graduate, Management, Biology and other listed programs6.54.5 (old scale 90)11061
Graduate, Applied Linguistics PhD and Early Childhood PhD7.05 (old scale 100)12068
Undergraduate first-year6.04 (old scale 79)105Not listed

Graduate: IELTS 6.0 for most programs

The IELTS 6.5 tier covers the College of Management, Applied Linguistics MA, all Biology programs, English MA, History MA, Instructional Design and International Relations MA. UMass Boston accepts only official scores sent by the testing agency (code 3924). The same page says most three-year degrees, including the Indian BA, BSc and BCom, are not equivalent to a US bachelor's. Graduate conditional admission is not stated.

You need no score after at least two academic years of full-time study, excluding ESL and test prep, at an English-language institution in the US or a listed country, such as Australia, Canada (except Quebec), Ghana, Hong Kong, Ireland, Kenya, New Zealand, Nigeria, Singapore, South Africa or the UK. India is not on the list. See international graduate applicants.

Know your target? Check where you stand

Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.

Take a free scored IELTS mock →

Undergraduate: IELTS 6.0 or Duolingo 105

First-year applicants show proficiency with TOEFL 4 (79 before 21 January 2026), IELTS 6.0, Duolingo 105, SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing 480 or ACT Reading and English totalling 34. PTE is not on the list. Students from the same listed countries are exempt; India is not one of them. Provisional admission, with referral to the University Preparation ESL program, may be offered when TOEFL or IELTS falls short, but not for nursing, engineering or management. See international first-year.

Student visa and next steps

The US F-1 student visa sets no English test score of its own. What counts is the requirement UMass Boston sets for admission, which leads to your Form I-20. For the wider picture of studying in the US with each test, see IELTS for the USA and PTE for the USA.

Requirements change between admission cycles. Check the UMass Boston international graduate applicants page again before you book a test, and check your own program page, which can set a higher bar.

Frequently asked questions

What IELTS score do I need for an MS at UMass Boston?+

IELTS Academic 6.0 for most programs, 6.5 for the College of Management, Biology and several MA programs, and 7.0 for two PhD programs.

What IELTS score does UMass Boston need for a business master's?+

IELTS 6.5. The College of Management also accepts TOEFL 4.5 (90 on the old scale), PTE 61 or Duolingo 110.

Does UMass Boston accept PTE?+

Yes for graduate admission, from PTE 53 for most programs. PTE is not on the undergraduate list of accepted exams.

Are Indian students exempt from IELTS at UMass Boston?+

No. India is not on UMass Boston's list of countries where two years of English-language study waives the test.

Does UMass Boston offer conditional admission?+

For undergraduates, provisional admission is possible when TOEFL or IELTS is below the minimum, except in nursing, engineering and management. It is not stated for graduates.

Keep reading

Related

Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.

© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy

Take a free scored IELTS mock