University English requirements

What PTE score do you need for the University of Arizona?

The University of Arizona asks for PTE Academic 60 at both levels. The undergraduate page also accepts PTE Express at 60, and the Graduate College lists PTE Academic 60 as its minimum. Graduate tests must be dated within two years of the enrollment term. International graduate teaching assistants can show spoken English with a PTE speaking score of 80.
  • Guide updated · 1 November 2026
  • 3 sections
  • PTE

Written byFizza Butool ZaidiIELTS teacher for 10+ years, PTE for 5Updated 1 November 2026

Arizona PTE minimums by level

From the undergraduate international admissions page and the Graduate College international applicants page.

Programme or bandPTE overallMinimum per skill
Undergraduate (PTE Academic or PTE Express)60Not stated
Graduate College60Not stated
Graduate teaching assistant speakingNot statedSpeaking 80

Test rules and how to send your score

Undergraduate test scores must be dated within two years of the application date, and graduate tests within two years of the enrollment term. Neither page mentions PTE Academic Online or PTE Core or gives a Pearson sending method. Individual graduate departments may set higher scores.

For comparison, the Graduate College asks IELTS 7 with no part below 6, and the undergraduate page lists IELTS 6.5.

Know your target? Check where you stand

Take a free AI-scored PTE mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.

Take a free mock →

Practise before you book: free PTE mock test, PTE predictions, PTE Core practice test and PTE to IELTS converter.

If you fall short

Graduate departments may recommend international conditional admission for students who meet every Graduate College requirement except English proficiency. The Graduate College also accepts the CEPT Full Academic test from the Center for English as a Second Language at a total of 110.

Requirements vary by programme and change between admissions cycles. The score that binds you is the one on your Arizona programme page and in your offer letter, so check it there before you book a test.

Frequently asked questions

What PTE score does the University of Arizona need?+

PTE Academic 60 for both undergraduate and graduate admission.

Does Arizona accept PTE Express?+

The undergraduate page lists PTE Academic or PTE Express at 60. The graduate page names PTE Academic.

How old can my PTE score be?+

Graduate tests must be dated within two years of the enrollment term; undergraduate tests within two years of the application date.

What PTE score do graduate TAs need at Arizona?+

A PTE Academic speaking score of 80 is one way to show spoken English proficiency.

Keep reading

Related

Guide updated on 1 November 2026. Individual prices and policies may have earlier observation dates. Confirm current details on the linked official pages before you book or apply.

© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy