University English requirements

What IELTS score do you need for the University of Bolton?

The University of Bolton, now renamed the University of Greater Manchester, asks for IELTS Academic 6.0 with no band below 5.5 for undergraduate degrees, and its MBA and Data Analytics MSc pages ask the same. PTE Academic needs at least 59 in each component, with no overall score published. Duolingo is missing from its current English page but still appears in an older guide it links to.
  • Checked against official sources · 8 October 2026
  • 4 sections
  • IELTS

Bolton's levels by test

From the University of Greater Manchester's English language requirements page; bolton.ac.uk addresses now redirect there. Tests must be taken within two years of the course start, and only IELTS for UKVI is accepted for foundation and pre-sessional courses. Whether IELTS Online or One Skill Retake counts is not stated. Postgraduate IELTS is "as per entry requirements" on that page, while its general entry page gives 6.0 with 5.5.

An older English test guide from January 2021, still linked from the apply and country pages, lists Duolingo at 100 for IELTS 6.0 courses and PTE at 50 with 42 in each component. The current page lists neither, so confirm Duolingo with admissions.

TestIELTS 6.0 programmesPostgraduate needing IELTS 6.5Postgraduate needing IELTS 7.0
PTE Academic (overall not stated)No less than 59 in each componentNo less than 59 in each componentNo less than 76 in each component
TOEFL iBT componentsReading 18, writing 17, listening 17, speaking 20Reading 20, writing 19, listening 19, speaking 21Reading 24, writing 24, listening 22, speaking 25
Cambridge C1 Advanced170, no component below 160180, no component below 170185, no component below 180

Bolton IELTS on course pages

These 2026-27 course pages were read on 8 October 2026. The children's nursing degree is open to home students only, and international applications are not possible. MBChB Medicine, on the university's medicine site, asks for IELTS 7.0 with no less than 6.5 in each component.

CourseLevelIELTS
Business Management BScUndergraduate6.0, no less than 5.5 in any band
Nursing (Children) BScUndergraduateHome students only; international applications not possible
MBA (12 months)Postgraduate6.0, no less than 5.5 in any band
Data Analytics and Technologies MScPostgraduate6.0, no less than 5.5 in any band

Know your target? Check where you stand

Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.

Take a free scored IELTS mock →

Indian, Pakistani, Nepali, Bangladeshi and Nigerian applicants

The India page asks for 60% at Standard XII academically and a recognised English qualification, with no Standard XII English waiver stated. The Pakistan, Nepal and Bangladesh pages give IELTS only. The Nigeria page accepts WAEC C6, and the general page adds NECO. Medium of instruction letters are not stated.

CountryUniversity of Greater Manchester rule
IndiaRecognised English qualification; no Standard XII English waiver stated
Pakistan, Nepal, BangladeshFoundation IELTS 5.0, undergraduate 6.0, postgraduate normally 6.0 (or equivalent)
NigeriaWAEC English C6 (NECO C6 on the general page)

Deposit, interviews, Imperial English and the Student visa

The 2025/26 course fees policy says the deposit before a CAS is normally £5,000, though the university may charge the full first-year fee; a 2026/27 policy was not found online. Its deposit FAQ says a deposit is requested after a successful credibility interview or connect call. Its deadlines page closes January 2027 applications on 4 December 2026, with the last CAS on 18 December.

The university accepts the partner Imperial English test and courses, online or on campus in Birmingham: £1,000 for two months from IELTS 5.5 to 6.0, £1,900 for four months from 5.0 and £2,900 for five months from 4.5. Its own pre-sessional page redirected to the homepage when checked.

For a Student visa, UK Visas and Immigration asks for English at CEFR B2 for degree-level study and B1 below degree level, per gov.uk. At degree level, gov.uk adds, your university can assess your English itself and may ask you to take a different test.

Requirements vary by programme and change between admissions cycles. The score that binds you is the one on your University of Greater Manchester programme page and in your offer letter, so check it there before you book a test.

Frequently asked questions

Does the University of Bolton accept PTE?+

Yes. Its English page asks for no less than 59 in each component for IELTS 6.0 and 6.5 programmes and 76 for 7.0, without an overall score.

Does Bolton accept Duolingo?+

Its current English page does not list Duolingo, but an older January 2021 guide it still links to lists Duolingo at 100 for IELTS 6.0 courses. Confirm with admissions.

Is the University of Bolton the same as the University of Greater Manchester?+

Yes. bolton.ac.uk pages now redirect to greatermanchester.ac.uk, and course pages still carry University of Bolton in their names.

Can Indian students study at Bolton without IELTS?+

No Standard XII English waiver is stated. The India page asks for a recognised English language qualification.

How much deposit does Bolton ask before the CAS?+

The 2025/26 fees policy says normally £5,000, though the university may charge a deposit equal to the full first year of study.

Keep reading

Related

Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.

© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy

Take a free scored IELTS mock