Huddersfield IELTS on course pages
These course pages were read on 8 October 2026. Each sets a minimum IELTS score or equivalent and links back to the international entry requirements page.
| Course | Level | IELTS |
|---|---|---|
| Computer Science BSc | Undergraduate | 6.0, no element lower than 5.5 |
| Law LLB | Undergraduate | 6.0, no element lower than 5.5 |
| International Business MSc | Postgraduate | 6.0, no element lower than 5.5 |
| International Business (Professional Practice) MSc | Postgraduate | 7.0, no element lower than 6.5 |
PTE and other tests Huddersfield accepts
From Huddersfield's international entry requirements page. Huddersfield does not accept IELTS Online, the PTE or TOEFL Home Editions, or Oxford ELLT Digital. Duolingo does not appear in its table. It says it will not normally waive the requirement for speakers of other languages who completed a programme taught in English in their home country.
| Test | Standard required score | Validity |
|---|---|---|
| IELTS Academic (not online) or One Skill Retake | 6.0, no lower than 5.5 in any element | 2 years |
| Pearson PTE Academic | 59 overall, 59 minimum in each skill | 2 years |
| TOEFL (not Home Edition) | 87; Reading 22, Listening 21, Speaking 23, Writing 21 | 2 years |
| LanguageCert International | 65, no component lower than 60 | 2 years |
| Oxford ELLT Global | 6, no component lower than 5 | 2 years |
| WAEC or NECO | C6 or above | No expiry |
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Indian, Pakistani and Nigerian applicants
Huddersfield's country entries for India, Pakistan, Nepal, Bangladesh and Nigeria all refer back to the main English table, so a Standard XII or other school-English waiver is not stated by Huddersfield. Nigerian applicants can use WAEC or NECO English at C6. Its Nigeria entry says WAEC holders are recommended to take the International Foundation Year for undergraduate entry, which is an academic rule.
Pre-sessional English, CAS interviews and the Student visa
Huddersfield's Pre-Sessional Programme is delivered fully online over 6 to 12 weeks, with September and January intakes, for students who hold a conditional degree offer. A CAS for the degree follows successful completion. Fees and entry scores are not stated on that page.
Huddersfield's CAS issuing policy says the university may request an interview to check that an applicant's intent to study is genuine, and that pre-CAS interviews form part of its checks. It refers to a non-refundable deposit.
For a Student visa, UK Visas and Immigration asks for English at CEFR B2 for degree-level study and B1 below degree level, per gov.uk. At degree level, gov.uk adds, your university can assess your English itself and may ask you to take a different test.
Requirements vary by programme and change between admissions cycles. The score that binds you is the one on your Huddersfield programme page and in your offer letter, so check it there before you book a test.
Frequently asked questions
Does the University of Huddersfield accept PTE?+
Yes, but not the Home Edition: 59 overall with a minimum of 59 in listening, reading, writing and speaking.
Does Huddersfield accept Duolingo?+
Duolingo does not appear in Huddersfield's table of accepted English language qualifications.
Does Huddersfield accept IELTS Online?+
No. Huddersfield's table states that the online IELTS test is not accepted. IELTS One Skill Retake is accepted at 6.0 with no component below 5.5.
Can Indian students study at Huddersfield without IELTS?+
A Standard XII English waiver is not stated by Huddersfield. Its India entry refers to the main table of tests.
Does Huddersfield accept an MOI letter?+
Normally not. Huddersfield says it will not normally waive the requirement for students who completed a programme taught in English in their home country.
Keep reading
Related
- University of Bradford IELTS requirement
- Sheffield Hallam University IELTS requirement
- IELTS for UKVI vs IELTS Academic
- IELTS band score calculator
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy