Written byFizza Butool ZaidiIELTS teacher for 10+ years, PTE for 5Updated 31 October 2026
Greater Manchester PTE Academic minimums
From the University of Greater Manchester's English language requirements. The page states PTE only as component minimums and gives no separate overall score.
| Programme or band | PTE overall | Minimum per skill |
|---|---|---|
| Undergraduate and postgraduate requiring IELTS 6.0 | Not stated | No less than 59 in each component |
| Postgraduate requiring IELTS 6.5 | Not stated | No less than 59 in each component |
| Postgraduate requiring IELTS 7.0 | Not stated | No less than 76 in each component |
Test rules at Greater Manchester
The page says accepted tests must have been taken within two years of the start of the course. It does not say whether PTE Academic Online is accepted and gives no Pearson institution code. IELTS on the same page is 6.0 with no band below 5.5 for undergraduates, with postgraduate levels set by each course's entry requirements.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored PTE mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free mock →Practise before you book: free PTE mock test, PTE predictions, PTE Core practice test and PTE to IELTS converter.
If your PTE score falls short
The page lists an Online English Pre-Sessional with PTE entry points, but marks it as currently not running, so check with admissions what route is open for your intake.
Requirements vary by programme and change between admissions cycles. The score that binds you is the one on your Greater Manchester programme page and in your offer letter, so check it there before you book a test.
Frequently asked questions
What PTE does the University of Bolton need?+
Now the University of Greater Manchester: no less than 59 in each component for IELTS 6.0 and 6.5 courses.
What PTE is needed for IELTS 7.0 courses at Greater Manchester?+
No less than 76 in each component.
Is there an overall PTE score at Greater Manchester?+
The page lists only component minimums.
How old can my PTE be?+
Taken within two years of the start of the course.
Keep reading
Related
- University of Bolton IELTS requirement
- UCLan PTE requirement
- PTE for the UK: universities and visa
- PTE score calculator
- All 3605 guides
Guide updated on 31 October 2026. Individual prices and policies may have earlier observation dates. Confirm current details on the linked official pages before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy