Cumbria's levels by test
From Cumbria's English language requirements page, which says accepted tests are valid for two years. PhD and DBA applicants need 7.0 with 6.5, and several health courses 7.0 with 6.5 or 7.0 in every component. PTE Academic and Duolingo are not listed on this page or in its 2026 international prospectus, so confirm with admissions before booking either. IELTS for UKVI, IELTS Online and One Skill Retake are not stated.
| Test | Standard undergraduate | Standard taught postgraduate |
|---|---|---|
| IELTS Academic or Cumbria's Password test | 6.0, minimum 5.5 in each component | 6.5, minimum 5.5 in each component |
| TOEFL iBT | 4; 4 in reading, listening, writing and speaking | 4.5; 4 in reading, listening, writing and speaking |
| LanguageCert Academic SELT (B2) | No less than 65 in each skill | No less than 70 in each skill |
| Oxford ELLT Digital | 6, minimum 5 in each | 7, minimum 5 in each |
| Oxford Test of English | 120, minimum 111 in each | 130, minimum 111 in each |
| Cambridge B2 First, C1 Advanced or C2 Proficiency | 170, minimum 162 in each | 176, minimum 162 in each |
Cumbria IELTS on course pages
These course pages were read on 8 October 2026; none states a PTE score, and the Computer Science BSc page gives no IELTS. The London MBA asks more than the Lancaster MBA and says students who need a Student visa cannot study at the London campus because of UKVI licence restrictions. The MSc Adult Nursing page says Cumbria no longer accepts Student Route applicants for September 2026.
| Course | Level | IELTS |
|---|---|---|
| Adult Nursing BSc | Undergraduate | No IELTS on page (English page: BSc Nursing 6.5, 6.0) |
| MBA (Lancaster) | Postgraduate | 6.5, minimum 5.5 in each component |
| MBA (London) | Postgraduate | 6.5, minimum 6 in each component; not open to Student visa holders |
| MSc Adult Nursing (pre-registration) | Postgraduate | 7.0, minimum 7.0 in each component |
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Cumbria's own test and school English
Cumbria's Password English Language Test is an online test graded like IELTS Academic, costing £100 and accepted on all its programmes. Its store page says there is "no further availability" for the September 2026 intake, and that the result "cannot be used as evidence at any other UK university".
The English page accepts Standard XII English from CBSE, CISCE and the Delhi, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, West Bengal, Kerala and seven north-eastern state boards, with no maximum validity. Nepali medium of instruction letters count only from Tribhuvan, Kathmandu and Pokhara universities. School-English waivers for Pakistan and Bangladesh are not stated, and unlisted Indian boards are not mentioned.
| Qualification | IELTS 6.0 (5.5) courses | IELTS 6.5 (5.5) courses | IELTS 7.0 (6.5) courses |
|---|---|---|---|
| Standard XII English (CBSE, CISCE, listed state boards) | 65% | 70% | 75% |
| WAEC or NECO English | C6 | C5 | B3 |
| Nepal MOI letter (Tribhuvan, Kathmandu, Pokhara) | Not accepted | Accepted | Not accepted |
Deposit, credibility interviews, pre-sessional and the Student visa
Cumbria's offer page asks for "a minimum deposit of £4000 (for low risk countries) or 50% of the first year's tuition fees", while its visas page says at least 50% and its fees page up to 50%, non-refundable unless your visa is refused in exceptional circumstances. You must pass a credibility interview via CAS Shield where applicable. January 2027 deadlines and country recruitment pauses are not stated.
Cumbria's online pre-sessional, run by Oxford International Digital Institute, costs £1,590 for 6 weeks or £2,590 for 12 weeks, with start dates through the year; the 6-week course aims to raise IELTS by 0.5 of a band. Admissions tells you which tests it accepts for entry.
For a Student visa, UK Visas and Immigration asks for English at CEFR B2 for degree-level study and B1 below degree level, per gov.uk. At degree level, gov.uk adds, your university can assess your English itself and may ask you to take a different test.
Requirements vary by programme and change between admissions cycles. The score that binds you is the one on your Cumbria programme page and in your offer letter, so check it there before you book a test.
Frequently asked questions
Does the University of Cumbria accept PTE?+
PTE Academic is not listed on Cumbria's English language requirements page or in its 2026 international prospectus, so check with admissions before booking it.
Does Cumbria accept Duolingo?+
Duolingo does not appear on Cumbria's English language requirements page or in its 2026 international prospectus.
What is Cumbria's Password English test?+
An online test graded like IELTS Academic, costing £100, accepted on all Cumbria programmes but at no other UK university. It had no further availability for September 2026.
Can Indian students study at Cumbria without IELTS?+
Yes, with 65% in Standard XII English for IELTS 6.0 courses, or 70% for 6.5 courses, from CBSE, CISCE or listed state boards, with no maximum validity period.
Can international students join Cumbria's MSc Nursing?+
Not for September 2026 if you need a Student Route visa: Cumbria says it is no longer accepting those applications. The course asks for IELTS 7.0 in every component.
Keep reading
Related
- Lancaster University IELTS requirement
- UCLan (University of Lancashire) IELTS requirement
- IELTS for UKVI vs IELTS Academic
- Free IELTS mock test with AI band score
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy