Gloucestershire's levels by test
From Gloucestershire's English entry requirements page and English language policy, which accept IELTS for UKVI and non-UKVI IELTS for degrees; study below degree level needs a SELT. Tests are valid for two years. Research degrees need 6.5 with 6.0 in writing. Its own English Language Assessment is used to top up or reassess qualifications; its cost is not stated. IELTS Online, One Skill Retake and at-home PTE are not stated.
| Test | IELTS 6.0 courses | IELTS 6.5 courses | IELTS 7.0 courses |
|---|---|---|---|
| PTE Academic or PTE Academic UKVI | 64 | 70 | 76 |
| Duolingo (differential evidence nationals only) | 105, no less than 100 in each band | 120, no less than 100 in each band | 120, no less than 100 in each band |
| TOEFL iBT or Home Edition (from January 2026) | 4.5, minimum 4.0 in each | 5.0, minimum 4.5 in each | 5.5, minimum 5.0 in each |
| LanguageCert Academic (no component below 60) | 65 | 70 | 75 |
Gloucestershire IELTS on course pages
These course pages were read on 8 October 2026; none states a PTE score. The non-UKVI table on the English page lists Adult Nursing at 7.0 with 6.5 in writing, while the UKVI table and the course page ask for 7.0 in every component, so confirm with admissions.
| Course | Level | IELTS |
|---|---|---|
| Computer Science BSc | Undergraduate | No score stated (IELTS or an equivalent test) |
| Nursing (Adult) BSc | Undergraduate | 7.0, minimum 7.0 in all sections |
| MBA Business Administration | Postgraduate | 6.0, no less than 5.5 in writing and any other band |
| Data Science MSc | Postgraduate | 6.0, no less than 5.5 in writing and any other band |
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Indian, Pakistani, Nepali and Nigerian applicants
These rules come from Gloucestershire's country pages for India, Pakistan, Nepal and Nigeria, and the English page. Indian boards not listed are not mentioned. The Pakistan page says undergraduates need IELTS, LanguageCert SELT or PTE and "we don't accept any other qualifications", yet lists accepted MOI letters on the same page. The Bangladesh page gives no English specifics.
| Country | School English | Medium of instruction letter |
|---|---|---|
| India | Standard XII English 70%, within 5 years: CISCE, CBSE, Maharashtra, Tamil Nadu, Telangana, Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh, Kerala, West Bengal | Postgraduate: NIRF top 100 universities, within 10 years |
| Pakistan | Undergraduate: IELTS, LanguageCert SELT or PTE only | 10 named universities incl. NUST, LUMS and COMSATS; valid 5 years |
| Nepal | SLC 65% / B / GPA 2.8 for IELTS 6.0 courses, within 5 years | Kathmandu, Tribhuvan and Pokhara universities, within 10 years |
| Nigeria | WAEC English C6 (C4 for IELTS 7.0), NECO C; within 10 years | Any recognised Nigerian university, within 10 years |
Deposit, CAS interviews, pre-sessional and the Student visa
Gloucestershire's 2026-27 tuition fee policy asks for £6,000 to secure a CAS, but its admission and sponsorship policy says £4,000. Its CAS page says you may be asked for a short video interview in CAS Shield, asks you not to pay a deposit until you pass it, and warns that an unconditional offer does not guarantee a CAS because CAS numbers are finite. January 2027 entry is listed for postgraduate courses only, with an overseas CAS deadline of 16 November 2026.
Gloucestershire's online pre-sessional, run by Study Group, costs £350 a week; a 6-week course runs 5 October to 13 November 2026. For a 6.0 (5.5) degree, entry is from IELTS 5.0 (4.5) for 12 weeks, 5.0 (5.0) for 10 weeks or 5.5 (5.5) for 8 weeks. Students taking it online from overseas do not need a SELT.
For a Student visa, UK Visas and Immigration asks for English at CEFR B2 for degree-level study and B1 below degree level, per gov.uk. At degree level, gov.uk adds, your university can assess your English itself and may ask you to take a different test.
Requirements vary by programme and change between admissions cycles. The score that binds you is the one on your Gloucestershire programme page and in your offer letter, so check it there before you book a test.
Frequently asked questions
Does the University of Gloucestershire accept PTE?+
Yes, PTE Academic or PTE Academic UKVI: 64 for IELTS 6.0 courses, 70 for 6.5 and 76 for 7.0. Component minimums are not stated.
Does Gloucestershire accept Duolingo?+
Only for nationals of countries on the UKVI differential evidence list: 105 with no band below 100 for IELTS 6.0 courses, or 120 for 6.5 and 7.0.
Can Indian students study at Gloucestershire without IELTS?+
Yes, with 70% in Standard XII English from the last five years, from CISCE, CBSE or seven named state boards. Postgraduates may use an MOI letter from an NIRF top-100 university.
How much deposit does Gloucestershire ask before the CAS?+
Its 2026-27 tuition fee policy says £6,000, while its admission and sponsorship policy says £4,000. Check your offer.
What IELTS do I need for a master's at Gloucestershire?+
6.0 with no component below 5.5, as on the MBA Business Administration and Data Science MSc pages. Research degrees need 6.5 with 6.0 in writing.
Keep reading
Related
- UWE Bristol IELTS requirement
- Oxford Brookes University IELTS requirement
- IELTS for a UK Student visa
- IELTS band score calculator
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy