UWE Bristol's levels by test
From UWE's English language requirements page. Most tests are valid for two years and must be in date at the start of your course, and UWE uses only your most recent result, even if it is lower. It does not accept IELTS General Training or online PTE tests; whether IELTS Online counts is not stated. Courses with a higher IELTS requirement ask for Duolingo 130 with 120 in each component.
| Test | Undergraduate | Postgraduate |
|---|---|---|
| IELTS Academic (incl. One Skill Retake and IELTS Indicator) | 6.0, 5.5 in each component | 6.5, 5.5 in each component |
| PTE Academic (test centre only) | 59, at least 59 in each component | 62, at least 59 in each component |
| Duolingo | 105, 100 in each component | 120, 105 in each component |
| TOEFL iBT (new scale) | 4.0, minimum 3.5 in each component | 4.5, minimum 4.0 in each component |
| Oxford ELLT (Digital not for applicants from South Asia) | Level 6, at least Level 5 in all components | Level 7 |
UWE Bristol IELTS on course pages
These course pages were read on 8 October 2026 and point to the central page for PTE and other tests. For final-year undergraduate entry, UWE asks for 6.5 with no component below 5.5, or 6.0 with no more than one component at 5.5.
| Course | Level | IELTS |
|---|---|---|
| Computer Science BSc | Undergraduate | 6.0, 5.5 in each component |
| Nursing (Adult) BSc | Undergraduate | 7.0, minimum 6.5 in writing and 7.0 in all other sections |
| Data Science MSc | Postgraduate | 6.5, 5.5 in each component |
| MBA (full-time) | Postgraduate | 6.5, 5.5 in each component |
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →UWE's own English test and school English
UWE's online English Language Test follows the IELTS format and is open to international offer holders joining an on-campus course, for most courses; the pass score is not stated. Its Pakistan page says the placement test is free and can be attempted twice, while the pre-sessional page describes it as for students who don't need a visa, so confirm with admissions.
UWE's main page and its India page list different boards and time limits for Standard XII, so confirm with admissions. Its Nigeria page omits NABTEB, which the main page accepts. The Nepal and Bangladesh pages list no local qualification, and medium of instruction letters are not mentioned.
| Qualification | UWE requirement |
|---|---|
| Standard XII English (main page) | 70% from CBSE, CISCE or WBCHSEB, completed within the last three years |
| Standard XII English (India page) | 70% from those boards or the Maharashtra, Andhra, Telangana, Tamil Nadu, Kerala or Karnataka boards, passed 2018 or later |
| Pakistan | Cambridge O Level English Language, grade C or above |
| WAEC/WASSCE, NECO or NABTEB English | C6 or higher (B3 for courses with a higher IELTS requirement) |
Credibility checks, payments, pre-sessional and the Student visa
UWE's international applications page says it runs credibility assessments, including interviews, before issuing a CAS, chosen partly on regional risk factors. For January 2027, interviews must be finished by 14 December 2026, and UWE says applications from some countries may close from 15 October 2026, without naming them. Its payments page asks applicants from Pakistan and Sylhet (Bangladesh) for £8,500 before a CAS; the Bangladesh page says Sylhet pays the full fee.
UWE's pre-sessional course ran 15, 10 or 5 weeks in 2026 (£5,400, £3,600 or £1,800), from IELTS 4.5, 5.0 or 5.5 for undergraduate entry and 5.0, 5.5 or 6.0 for postgraduate, with at least 4.0 in each element. It accepts only UKVI-approved SELTs, and passing lets you progress without IELTS.
For a Student visa, UK Visas and Immigration asks for English at CEFR B2 for degree-level study and B1 below degree level, per gov.uk. At degree level, gov.uk adds, your university can assess your English itself and may ask you to take a different test.
Requirements vary by programme and change between admissions cycles. The score that binds you is the one on your UWE Bristol programme page and in your offer letter, so check it there before you book a test.
Frequently asked questions
Does UWE Bristol accept PTE?+
Yes, from a test centre only: 59 with at least 59 in each component for undergraduate courses, and 62 with at least 59 for postgraduate courses.
Does UWE Bristol accept Duolingo?+
Yes: 105 with 100 in each component for undergraduate courses, 120 with 105 for postgraduate, and 130 with 120 for courses with a higher IELTS requirement.
Does UWE Bristol have its own English test?+
Yes. International offer holders joining an on-campus course can take UWE's online English Language Test, in the same format as IELTS, with the first sitting free.
Can Indian students study at UWE Bristol without IELTS?+
Yes, with 70% in Standard XII English. The main page lists CBSE, CISCE and WBCHSEB within three years; the India page adds six state boards, passed 2018 or later.
How much do Pakistani students pay before a CAS at UWE Bristol?+
UWE's payments page says applicants from Pakistan and Sylhet (Bangladesh) must pay £8,500 before a CAS is issued, due to visa compliance measures.
Keep reading
Related
- University of Bristol IELTS requirement
- University of Plymouth IELTS requirement
- PTE vs IELTS for a UK visa
- IELTS band score calculator
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy