University of Guelph English test minimums
Undergraduate scores are from Guelph's undergraduate English proficiency page; graduate scores are from Graduate Studies' English language proficiency page. TOEFL, including the Home Edition, needs 89 with no section below 21 for older tests, or 4.5 with no section below 4.0 from 21 January 2026, at both levels.
Undergraduates can also use CAEL 70 or Cambridge C1 Advanced or C2 Proficiency at 176 with no band below 169. Graduate alternatives are CAEL 70, MELAB 85 and Oxford ELLT 7. For undergraduate Duolingo, Guelph says individual subscores may be considered.
| Level | IELTS Academic | TOEFL iBT | PTE Academic | Duolingo |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Undergraduate | 6.5, no band below 6 | 89 (21 each) or 4.5 (4.0 each) | 60, 60 each component | 110 |
| Graduate (university minimum) | 6.5 | 4.5 (4.0 each) or 89 (21 each) | 60, 60 each component | 120 |
Validity and department scores
Undergraduate: test scores must be no more than two years old when you apply. Graduate: some departments require higher than the university minimum, so check with your department; Graduate Studies lists IELTS by overall score only, and a band minimum is not stated on that page.
A graduate validity period and a position on IELTS One Skill Retake are not stated by the University of Guelph on these pages.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Guelph's English Language Certificate Program
Completing the Advanced Level of Guelph's English Language Certificate Program (ELCP) meets the requirement at both levels. Undergraduates can also take the Guaranteed Admission Pathway (GAP), which combines ELCP with Open Learning courses toward a Bachelor of Commerce or Bachelor of Arts.
Study permit and PGWP: separate rules
The University of Guelph's scores decide admission only. IRCC sets no minimum English score for a study permit; any language condition is written into your letter of acceptance (see IELTS for a Canada study permit). The Post-Graduation Work Permit is a separate test again: university graduates need CLB 7 in all four skills, proved with IELTS General Training, CELPIP-General or PTE Core, not IELTS Academic (see IELTS for the PGWP).
Frequently asked questions
Does the University of Guelph accept PTE?+
Yes. PTE Academic 60 with at least 60 in each component, for undergraduate and graduate admission.
Does Guelph accept Duolingo?+
Yes. 110 overall for undergraduates and 120 for graduate admission.
What IELTS do I need for a master's at Guelph?+
IELTS Academic 6.5 overall is the university minimum; some departments require more.
Does Guelph accept computer-delivered IELTS?+
Yes. Both pages list paper or computer-delivered IELTS Academic.
Is the Guelph IELTS score the same as the study permit requirement?+
No. IRCC sets no minimum language score for a study permit; the university's score is an admission rule. The PGWP later needs CLB 7 for university graduates, on a General Training-type test.
Keep reading
Related
- Wilfrid Laurier University IELTS requirement
- Western University IELTS requirement
- IELTS for Canada
- IELTS for a Canada study permit
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 4 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy