Written byFizza Butool ZaidiIELTS teacher for 10+ years, PTE for 5Updated 1 November 2026
UMD PTE minimums by level
From the Graduate School English language proficiency page and the undergraduate English proficiency page.
| Programme or band | PTE overall | Minimum per skill |
|---|---|---|
| Graduate: full enrollment | 68 | Writing 68 |
| Graduate: admission with Advanced English Writing course | 68 | Writing 67 or below |
| Graduate: English Bridge Program | 61 to 67 | Not stated |
| Graduate: Intensive English (fall only) | 60 and below | Not stated |
| Undergraduate | Not listed | The page lists DET, IELTS and TOEFL only |
Test rules and how to send your score
The Graduate School accepts PTE Academic Online. If you submit more than one valid PTE score, it considers the highest sectional scores across those score sets, but it will not combine sections from different tests. PTE takers send official score reports to the University of Maryland through their Pearson account. The page does not mention PTE Core.
On the same page, IELTS full enrollment needs 7 overall with 7 in reading, listening and writing and 6.5 in speaking. Online and hybrid programmes, and programmes on the 12-week term calendar, need full-admission scores, because those students cannot attend the required English courses.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored PTE mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free mock →Practise before you book: free PTE mock test, PTE predictions, PTE Core practice test and PTE to IELTS converter.
If you fall short
Scores in the bridge or intensive range lead to courses at the Maryland English Institute. The page notes that intensive English will not run in spring 2027, and that students with a PTE below 56 run a higher than normal risk of needing more than one semester of it. Teaching assistant English rules are handled separately from admission.
Requirements vary by programme and change between admissions cycles. The score that binds you is the one on your UMD programme page and in your offer letter, so check it there before you book a test.
Frequently asked questions
What PTE score does the University of Maryland need for graduate study?+
PTE Academic 68 overall with 68 in writing for full enrollment at the Graduate School.
Does UMD accept PTE Academic Online?+
Yes. The Graduate School page lists PTE Academic Online among accepted tests.
Does UMD superscore PTE?+
The Graduate School considers the highest sectional scores across more than one valid PTE score set, but only within the same type of test.
Does UMD accept PTE for undergraduate admission?+
The undergraduate English proficiency page lists Duolingo, IELTS and TOEFL, not PTE.
Keep reading
Related
- University of Maryland IELTS requirement
- PTE for the USA: scores by university
- How long PTE scores are valid
- PTE score calculator
- All 4937 guides
Guide updated on 1 November 2026. Individual prices and policies may have earlier observation dates. Confirm current details on the linked official pages before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy