Written byFizza Butool ZaidiIELTS teacher for 10+ years, PTE for 5Updated 31 October 2026
Westminster PTE scores by degree level
From the University of Westminster English language requirements page. The page notes changes for September 2026 entry and says some courses list higher grades on the course page.
| Programme or band | PTE overall | Minimum per skill |
|---|---|---|
| Bachelor's (IELTS 6.0) | Not stated | 59 in each component |
| Master's (IELTS 6.5) | Not stated | 59 in each component |
| Degrees requiring IELTS 7.0 | 76 | 59 in each, or 76 where IELTS 7.0 is required in a component |
PTE UKVI, online tests and validity
The section is headed "Pearson PTE (in-person tests)" and says PTE Academic UKVI is a UKVI-approved SELT taken at selected test centres, and that Westminster does not accept the PTE Online version. It cannot accept scores across more than one PTE Academic test, minimum component scores are set in line with UKVI student visa requirements, and PTE is valid for two years.
The page's component table maps IELTS component scores of 5.5, 6.0 and 6.5 to PTE 59 and an IELTS component of 7.0 to PTE 76. No Pearson institution code is given.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored PTE mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free mock →Practise before you book: free PTE mock test, PTE predictions, PTE Core practice test and PTE to IELTS converter.
If your PTE score falls short
Westminster runs online and on-campus pre-sessional English courses. For the on-campus pre-sessional it can only accept a UKVI-approved SELT, and the page notes the tests accepted for pre-sessional entry may differ because of UKVI requirements.
For a Student visa, gov.uk asks for English at CEFR B2 for study at degree level or above and B1 below degree level, and says a university can assess degree-level applicants' English itself and may ask for a different test (gov.uk).
Requirements vary by programme and change between admissions cycles. The score that binds you is the one on your Westminster programme page and in your offer letter, so check it there before you book a test.
Frequently asked questions
What PTE score does Westminster need for a master's?+
At least 59 in each component for master's degrees requiring IELTS 6.5.
Does Westminster accept PTE Online?+
No. Only in-person PTE tests are accepted.
Can I combine two PTE tests for Westminster?+
No. Scores across more than one PTE Academic test are not accepted.
What PTE does Westminster need for IELTS 7.0 courses?+
76 overall with at least 59 in each component, or 76 where a component of IELTS 7.0 is required.
Keep reading
Related
- University of Westminster IELTS requirement
- University of Greenwich PTE requirement
- PTE for the UK: scores by university and visa
- PTE score calculator
- All 3605 guides
Guide updated on 31 October 2026. Individual prices and policies may have earlier observation dates. Confirm current details on the linked official pages before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy