University English requirements

What IELTS score does the University of Windsor require?

The University of Windsor asks undergraduates for IELTS Academic or IELTS Online 6.5, PTE Academic 60 or Duolingo 115, and accepts IELTS one-band retake scores. Graduate programs set their own IELTS level: 6.5 for the Master of Engineering and 7.0 for the Master of Engineering Management. Graduate Studies matches those with PTE 65 or 68 and Duolingo 120, and graduate scores are valid for two years.
  • Checked against official sources · 4 October 2026
  • 4 sections
  • IELTS

UWindsor English test minimums

Undergraduate scores are from UWindsor's undergraduate English proficiency answer and the Registrar's admission requirements page. Graduate rules are from the Faculty of Graduate Studies admission requirements, which lists Pearson at 65 "for IELTS of 6.5" and 68 "for IELTS of 7.0", with Duolingo at 120. Program levels are from the MEng and MEM pages.

Undergraduate TOEFL iBT is 83 with Writing 20, including the Home Edition. Undergraduates can also use CAEL 60 or Cambridge Advanced or Proficiency 176; graduate applicants need CAEL 70. Band-by-band IELTS minimums are not stated by UWindsor for these programs.

LevelIELTS AcademicTOEFL iBTPTE AcademicDuolingo
Undergraduate6.5 (Academic or IELTS Online)83, Writing 2060115
Master of Engineering (MEng)6.5Not stated on the MEng page65 (FGS rule for IELTS 6.5)120
Master of Engineering Management (MEM)7.010068 (FGS rule for IELTS 7.0)120

Validity, retakes and graduate exemptions

Graduate: all test scores are valid for two years from the test date and must still be valid at the start of the term you begin. You are exempt if, within the past two years, you completed a university degree at a Canadian institution, or at an institution in a country on UWindsor's exemption list where English was the main language of instruction.

Undergraduate: UWindsor says it accepts scores from the IELTS one-band retake, and IELTS Online is listed beside IELTS Academic. An undergraduate validity period is not stated by UWindsor. Duolingo tests from before 15 July 2019 are not considered, and you must select the University of Windsor in your Duolingo account.

Know your target? Check where you stand

Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.

Take a free scored IELTS mock →

ELIP: UWindsor's English pathway

Applicants below the requirement can get a conditional offer and meet it through the English Language Improvement Program (ELIP). Undergraduate and graduate applicants need ELIP Level III with a final grade of at least 75%.

Study permit and PGWP: separate rules

UWindsor's scores decide admission only. IRCC sets no minimum English score for a study permit; any language condition is written into your letter of acceptance (see IELTS for a Canada study permit). The Post-Graduation Work Permit is a separate test again. IRCC's PGWP eligibility page asks for CLB 7 in all four skills if you graduate with a bachelor's, master's or doctoral degree, and CLB 7 too if you graduate from "any other university program", which must also be in an eligible field of study if you applied for your study permit on or after 1 November 2024. The lower CLB 5 applies only to college, polytechnic and other non-university programs. On IELTS General Training, CLB 7 is 6.0 in each skill (IRCC score table). The PGWP takes IELTS General Training, CELPIP-General or PTE Core, not IELTS Academic (see IELTS for the PGWP).

Frequently asked questions

Does the University of Windsor accept PTE?+

Yes. PTE Academic 60 for undergraduates. For graduate programs, Pearson 65 where the program asks IELTS 6.5 and 68 where it asks IELTS 7.0.

Does UWindsor accept Duolingo?+

Yes. 115 for undergraduate admission and 120 for graduate admission, including the MEng and MEM.

What IELTS do I need for the MEng at Windsor?+

IELTS 6.5, or Duolingo 120 or UWindsor ELIP Level III, per the Faculty of Engineering's MEng requirements.

Does UWindsor accept IELTS One Skill Retake?+

For undergraduate admission, yes: UWindsor says it accepts scores from the IELTS one-band retake. The graduate page does not say.

Does the UWindsor IELTS score count for the PGWP?+

No. The university's score is an admission rule on IELTS Academic. For the PGWP, IRCC asks university graduates, of degree and other university programs alike, for CLB 7 in every skill, proved with IELTS General Training, CELPIP-General or PTE Core.

Keep reading

Related

Verified against the linked official sources on 4 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.

© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy

Take a free scored IELTS mock