University English requirements

What IELTS score do you need for the University of Wollongong in Dubai?

The University of Wollongong in Dubai (UOWD) asks for IELTS Academic 6.0 for three-year business, IT and engineering degrees and 6.5 for social sciences and media, with a four-year direct-entry route from IELTS 5.0. Master's degrees need 6.5 with 6.0 in each band, or PTE 62. UOWD does not accept IELTS Online or TOEFL Home Edition, and lists no Duolingo score.
  • Checked against official sources · 8 October 2026
  • 4 sections
  • IELTS

UOWD bachelor's levels by entry route

From UOWD's bachelor's admission page. Advanced entry is the three-year degree; direct entry (four years) starts lower. Business and engineering students with 6.0 overall and one of reading or writing between 5.0 and 6.0 can take a remedial subject in their first trimester. UOWD accepts only IELTS Academic taken on paper or computer at a test centre.

Degree groupIELTS, 3-year advanced entryPTE Academic, 3-yearTOEFL iBT, 3-year4-year direct entry
Business6.0; 6.0 in reading and writing, 5.0 in listening and speaking54, minimum 54 in each skill79; 18 reading and writing, 16 listening and speakingIELTS 5.0, TOEFL 40, PTE 42
Computer Science and IT6.0, 6.0 in each band54, minimum 54 in each skill79; 18 reading and writing, 17 listening and speakingIELTS 5.0, TOEFL 40, PTE 42
Social Sciences and Media6.5, 6.0 in each band62, minimum 54 in each skill86; 18 reading and writing, 17 listening and speakingIELTS 5.0, TOEFL 40, PTE 42
Engineering (Honours), 4 years6.0, 6.0 in each band54, minimum 54 in each skill79; 18 reading and writing, 17 listening and speakingNot offered separately

UOWD master's English

UOWD's master's admission page sets one level for all programmes: IELTS Academic 6.5 with 6.0 in reading, writing, listening and speaking; TOEFL iBT 88 with 22 writing, 20 reading, 17 listening and 18 speaking; or PTE Academic 62 with 62 in each skill. Master of Media Design students take an extra English subject unless they hold 6.5 with 6 in each band.

The English exemption is narrow: it applies only to students who did all their schooling (K-12) plus a bachelor's in English in a reference English-speaking country such as the UK, USA, Australia or New Zealand. A master's from India needs 40% (or 5.0/10 CGPA) academically, as does one from Pakistan.

Know your target? Check where you stand

Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.

Take a free scored IELTS mock →

CBSE, Pakistani HSSC and the foundation year

UOWD's bachelor's page sets CBSE Grade 12 as a points score from English or Hindi plus the best four other subjects (A1 = 4 down to D2 = 0.5). A CBSE or Indian school English waiver is not stated by UOWD. Its NCUK International Foundation Year is the one route that names EmSAT.

QualificationUOWD requirement
India CBSE Grade 12 (academic)10.5 for 3-year entry, 7 for 4-year entry
India ICSE Grade 12 (academic)77% for 3-year entry, 55% for 4-year entry
Pakistan HSSC (academic)88% for 3-year entry, 65% for 4-year entry
International Foundation Year EnglishIELTS 5, EmSAT 1100 or equivalent
International Foundation Year, India Standard 12Average 40%, including at least 40% in Maths

UAE visa note

UOWD's visas page says it can sponsor student visas for international students and those already in the UAE, issued for one year and usually processed in 7 to 14 working days. Outside the foundation year, whether UAE Ministry or CAA English minimums apply is not stated by UOWD.

In the UAE, the student residence visa is sponsored by the university. UOWD's visa page sets no English score for it; the English bar is the admission requirement above.

Requirements vary by programme and change between admissions cycles. The score that binds you is the one on your UOWD programme page and in your offer letter, so check it there before you book a test.

Frequently asked questions

What IELTS score does UOWD need?+

6.0 for three-year business, IT and engineering degrees, 6.5 for social sciences and media, IELTS 5.0 for four-year direct entry, and 6.5 with 6.0 in each band for master's.

Does UOWD accept PTE?+

Yes: 54 with 54 in each skill for most three-year degrees, 62 (54) for social sciences and media, 42 for four-year direct entry, and 62 with 62 in each skill for master's.

Does UOWD accept IELTS Online or Duolingo?+

UOWD does not accept IELTS Online or TOEFL Home Edition, only IELTS Academic at a test centre. Duolingo is not stated by UOWD.

Does UOWD accept EmSAT?+

Only for the NCUK International Foundation Year, at EmSAT 1100 alongside IELTS 5. UOWD's degree pages do not list EmSAT.

Is CBSE English accepted instead of IELTS at UOWD?+

A CBSE English waiver is not stated by UOWD. CBSE Grade 12 appears only as an academic points score: 10.5 for three-year entry and 7 for four-year entry.

Keep reading

Related

Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.

© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy

Take a free scored IELTS mock