University English requirements

What IELTS score does Assiniboine College require?

Assiniboine College in Brandon, Manitoba asks for IELTS Academic 6.5 with no sub-score below 6.0 for most certificate, diploma and advanced diploma programs, on a chart updated 15 July 2026. Business advanced diplomas and several named programs take 6.0 or 5.5, Practical Nursing needs 7.0, and IELTS One Skill Retake is accepted. PTE Academic is 55 and Duolingo 120 at the main level.
  • Checked against official sources · 8 October 2026
  • 4 sections
  • IELTS

Assiniboine English test minimums

Scores are from Assiniboine's ELP test chart, linked from its English language proficiency page. The chart counts IELTS Academic One Skill Retake, TOEFL iBT Home Edition, PTE Academic Online and CAEL Online. CAEL is 60, 50 or 40 by level; CELPIP General is not accepted at the main level and needs 7 or 6 in each skill at the two lower levels.

The 6.0 level covers all business advanced diplomas (Accounting, Finance, HR Management, Marketing), Comprehensive Health Care Aide, Education Assistant, Food Services Management and Pre-Health Sciences. Medical Laboratory Technology and Combined Laboratory & X-Ray Technology need 7.0 with Listening 7.5, Reading 6.5, Writing 6.5 and Speaking 7.0. Post-graduate programs are not named separately in the chart.

LevelIELTS AcademicTOEFL iBTPTE AcademicDuolingo
Most certificates, diplomas, advanced diplomas6.5, no sub-score below 6.081 (R 19, L 21, S 20, W 21) or 4 (R 4, L 4.5, S 4, W 4.5)55 (R 48, L 47, S 54, W 51)120, no sub-score below 105
Business advanced diplomas and other listed programs6.0, no sub-score below 5.567 (R 14, L 18, S 18, W 17) or 3.547 (R 42, L 40, S 39, W 41)110, no sub-score below 95
Food Processing, Professional Cooking, two ECE programs5.5, no sub-score below 5.054 or 33995, no sub-score below 80
Practical Nursing7.0 (L 7.0, R 6.5, W 6.5, S 7.0)Not listedNot listedNot listed

Practical Nursing and validity

Practical Nursing takes only IELTS Academic or CELBAN, and Assiniboine says no countries are English-exempt for it (Practical Nursing ELP page). Tests with an expiry date must not have expired; tests without one must be completed within two years of your program start.

The Canadian Language Benchmark Placement Test is not accepted for college admission. A position on IELTS Online is not stated by Assiniboine.

Know your target? Check where you stand

Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.

Take a free scored IELTS mock →

Exemptions, waivers and pathway schools

Assiniboine's test-exempt countries include the Philippines (with medium-of-instruction proof) but not India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Nepal or Sri Lanka. A waiver also covers three years of full-time post-secondary study in English, or a two-year diploma or one-year certificate with two full-time academic terms, at a recognized institution; whether foreign institutions qualify is not stated clearly, so ask before relying on it. Pathway schools include AEPUCE, ILAC, Heartland, The Language Gallery, Robertson College and William Academy.

Study permit and PGWP: separate rules

Assiniboine's scores decide admission only. IRCC sets no minimum English score for a study permit; any language condition is written into your letter of acceptance (see IELTS for a Canada study permit). The Post-Graduation Work Permit is a separate test again. IRCC's PGWP eligibility page asks for CLB 7 in all four skills if you graduate with a bachelor's, master's or doctoral degree or from any other university program, and CLB 5 for any other college, polytechnic or non-university program, so a bachelor's degree earned at a college still needs CLB 7. On IELTS General Training, CLB 7 is 6.0 in every skill and CLB 5 is Reading 4.0 and Writing, Listening and Speaking 5.0 (IRCC score table). The PGWP takes IELTS General Training, CELPIP-General or PTE Core, not IELTS Academic, and college programs also face a field-of-study rule if you applied for your study permit on or after 1 November 2024 (see IELTS for the PGWP).

Frequently asked questions

Does Assiniboine College accept PTE?+

Yes, including PTE Academic Online: 55 overall with Reading 48, Listening 47, Speaking 54 and Writing 51 for most programs, 47 or 39 for the lower levels. Not for Practical Nursing.

Does Assiniboine accept Duolingo?+

Yes: 120 (no sub-score below 105) for most programs, 110 (95) and 95 (80) for the lower levels. Not for Practical Nursing.

Does Assiniboine accept IELTS One Skill Retake?+

Yes. Its chart lists IELTS Academic including One Skill Retake.

Is IELTS 6.0 enough for an Assiniboine diploma?+

Only for the programs named at the 6.0 level, such as the business advanced diplomas and Education Assistant. Most certificates and diplomas need 6.5 with no sub-score below 6.0.

Does the Assiniboine IELTS score count for the PGWP?+

No. The college's score is an admission rule on IELTS Academic. For the PGWP, IRCC asks for CLB 7 in every skill after a bachelor's, master's or doctoral degree (a college degree included) and CLB 5 after other college and polytechnic programs, proved with IELTS General Training, CELPIP-General or PTE Core.

Keep reading

Related

Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.

© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy

Take a free scored IELTS mock