Written byFizza Butool ZaidiIELTS teacher for 10+ years, PTE for 5Updated 31 October 2026
ATU PTE minimums by level
From ATU's language requirements page, for international undergraduate and postgraduate courses applied for through ATU Global.
| Programme or band | PTE overall | Minimum per skill |
|---|---|---|
| Postgraduate | 55 | Not stated |
| Undergraduate | 51 | Not stated |
Validity and the IELTS level
The page says English language qualifications are only valid if completed within two years of the course start date, and that medium of instruction (MOI) letters are not accepted. It lists Pearson PTE Academic without a note on online testing or an institution code. Visa applicants should also check Irish immigration rules, which may differ.
Pearson's own PTE Core FAQ describes PTE Core as a general English test that is initially suitable only for work and migration routes to Canada, and says PTE Academic is the test accepted for university study.
For comparison, the same list asks IELTS Academic 5.5 with 5.0 in each component for undergraduate courses and 6.0 with 5.5 in each for postgraduate courses.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored PTE mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free mock →Practise before you book: free PTE mock test, PTE predictions, PTE Core practice test and PTE to IELTS converter.
If your PTE score falls short
The page says some secondary school qualifications can be accepted if English was taken as a subject at an appropriate level; contact the ATU Global Office to check yours. Undergraduates applying directly or through the CAO, not through ATU Global, follow a separate entry requirements document.
Requirements vary by programme and change between admissions cycles. The score that binds you is the one on your ATU programme page and in your offer letter, so check it there before you book a test.
Frequently asked questions
What PTE score does ATU need?+
51 for international undergraduate courses and 55 for postgraduate courses.
Does ATU set a PTE minimum per skill?+
The language requirements page gives an overall minimum only.
Does ATU accept a medium of instruction letter?+
No. ATU says MOI letters are not accepted.
How long is PTE valid for ATU?+
The test must have been completed within two years of the course start date.
Keep reading
Related
- Atlantic Technological University IELTS requirement
- SETU PTE requirement
- PTE for Ireland compared
- PTE score calculator
- All 3605 guides
Guide updated on 31 October 2026. Individual prices and policies may have earlier observation dates. Confirm current details on the linked official pages before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy