Baylor English requirements at a glance
Sources: the Graduate School's English proficiency examination page and Undergraduate Admissions' international application process. Graduate Duolingo, TOEFL and IELTS scores are valid for two years. Section minimums and an old-scale graduate TOEFL score are not stated by Baylor.
| Level | IELTS Academic | TOEFL iBT | Duolingo | PTE Academic |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Graduate master's (non-business) | 6.5 | 4.0 | 125 | Not accepted |
| Graduate business programs | 7.0 | 4.0 for master's (no business-specific score) | 125 | Not accepted |
| Graduate PhD research doctorates | 6.5 (business 7.0) | 4.5 | 125 | Not accepted |
| Undergraduate | 6.5 | 4.0 (old scale 80) | 110 | 60 |
Graduate: IELTS 6.5, and the English-only degree exemption
International graduate applicants must submit Duolingo, TOEFL or IELTS scores (TOEFL code 6032), and Baylor encourages you to confirm your department's TOEFL and IELTS expectations. Conditional admission is not stated by the Graduate School.
You are exempt with a conferred bachelor's or higher from an accredited US institution, or from an institution where English is the only language of instruction, or as a US citizen or permanent resident. Baylor names no countries, so India is not on any list; an Indian degree qualifies only if English was the only language of instruction. Request the exemption by emailing Graduate Admissions after uploading your transcripts. See English proficiency.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Undergraduate: IELTS 6.5 or PTE 60
Undergraduates submit IELTS 6.5 (IELTS Indicator accepted), TOEFL 80 before 21 January 2026 or 4.0 after (Home Edition and MyBest accepted), PTE 60, Duolingo 110, SAT EBRW 520 or ACT English 20. One full year of full-time study at a high school where English is the official language of instruction, or at a US high school, also counts. Students below the minimums may be considered through holistic review. See the international application process.
Student visa and next steps
The US F-1 student visa sets no English test score of its own. What counts is the requirement Baylor sets for admission, which leads to your Form I-20. For the wider picture of studying in the US with each test, see IELTS for the USA and PTE for the USA.
Requirements change between admission cycles. Check the Baylor Graduate School English proficiency page again before you book a test, and check your own program page, which can set a higher bar.
Frequently asked questions
What IELTS score do I need for an MS at Baylor?+
IELTS 6.5 for most graduate programs and 7.0 for business. Confirm your department's expectations, as Baylor recommends.
Does Baylor accept PTE?+
Not for graduate admission, which takes Duolingo, TOEFL or IELTS. Undergraduate admission accepts PTE 60.
What Duolingo score does Baylor need?+
125 for all graduate programs and 110 for undergraduate admission.
Can Indian students skip IELTS at Baylor?+
Baylor does not name India. A conferred bachelor's from an institution where English is the only language of instruction exempts you; email Graduate Admissions to request it.
What TOEFL score does Baylor need?+
4.0 for master's and professional doctorates and 4.5 for PhD research doctorates. Undergraduates need 4.0, or 80 on tests before 21 January 2026.
Keep reading
Related
- IELTS for the USA
- TOEFL to IELTS converter
- Texas A&M IELTS requirement
- UT Dallas IELTS requirement
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy