UT Dallas English requirements at a glance
Graduate rules come from Graduate Admissions' international students page and its recognized countries list; undergraduate rules from the Office of Admission and Enrollment's international applicants page. Section minimums are not stated by UT Dallas at either level.
| Level | IELTS Academic | TOEFL iBT | Duolingo | PTE Academic |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Graduate (master's and doctoral) | 6.5 | 4 for tests after 26 Jan 2026 (old scale 80); paper-based 550 | 105 | 67 |
| Undergraduate (freshman and transfer) | 6.5 | 80, Home and Paper Editions included; new-scale score not stated | 105 | 67 |
Graduate: 6.5 IELTS or PTE 67, with two waivers
If your native language is not English and you were educated outside the US, you must show English proficiency. Graduate Admissions accepts Duolingo (105), IELTS Academic (6.5), PTE Academic (67), TOEFL iBT (80 on tests taken on or before 26 January 2026, 4 after that), TOEFL paper-based (550) or completion of Level 112 at an ELS Language Center. The test date must be less than two years old at the time of admission; you upload a copy of the score report, and if admitted the testing agency must send official scores before you enroll.
You do not need a test if your bachelor's or master's degree was earned through instruction and examination in English, or if your native country's primary language is English. UT Dallas's recognized countries list names India, so Indian citizens are covered by that exemption. Programs may add their own requirements. See Graduate Admissions.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Undergraduate: the same 6.5 IELTS bar
International applicants from non-native English-speaking countries meet the requirement with Duolingo 105, IELTS 6.5, PTE 67, TOEFL iBT 80 (Home and Paper Editions included) or ELS Level 112. Official scores must come from the testing agency and be less than two years old at the time of admission. Alternatives include three years at a US high school, three years at an IB, British-system or comparable school taught only in English, SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing 560 or ACT English 21.
Applicants native to a country on UT Dallas's TOEFL exempt countries list, which also includes India, are excused from the requirement. The undergraduate page does not state a new-scale TOEFL score. See UT Dallas Admission.
Student visa and next steps
The US F-1 student visa sets no English test score of its own. What counts is the requirement UT Dallas sets for admission, which leads to your Form I-20. For the wider picture of studying in the US with each test, see IELTS for the USA and PTE for the USA.
Requirements change between admission cycles. Check the UT Dallas Graduate Admissions page again before you book a test, and check your own program page, which can set a higher bar.
Frequently asked questions
What IELTS score do I need for an MS at UT Dallas?+
IELTS Academic 6.5 overall. UT Dallas does not state section minimums, though individual programs may add requirements.
Does UT Dallas accept PTE?+
Yes. The minimum PTE Academic score is 67 for both graduate and undergraduate admission.
Do Indian students need IELTS for UT Dallas?+
India is on UT Dallas's list of countries recognized as English-speaking, and graduate applicants who are citizens of those countries do not need to establish English proficiency by examination. The undergraduate exempt list also includes India.
What TOEFL score does UT Dallas need on the new scale?+
For graduate admission, 4 for tests taken after 26 January 2026, or 80 for earlier tests. The undergraduate page lists 80.
How old can my IELTS score be for UT Dallas?+
The test date must be less than two years old at the time of admission.
Keep reading
Related
- IELTS for the USA
- TOEFL to IELTS converter
- Texas A&M IELTS requirement
- University of Houston IELTS requirement
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 4 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy