Cambrian English test minimums
Scores are from Cambrian's international English requirements page, which accepts TOEFL, IELTS, PTE and Duolingo. TOEFL is 80 on the internet-based test (550 paper-based) for diplomas, 84 (570) for graduate certificates and 88 for degrees; section minimums and scores on the new 1–6 TOEFL scale are not stated by Cambrian.
Social Service Worker (SSPG) and Social Service Worker – Indigenous Specialization (SSIS) must meet the graduate certificate minimums. Cambrian's PTE figure for degrees (58) is lower than for graduate certificates (61); that is how the college prints it.
| Level | IELTS Academic | TOEFL iBT | PTE Academic | Duolingo |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Diplomas and certificates | 6.0, no band under 5.5 | 80 | 58 | 105-115 |
| Graduate certificates | 6.5, no band under 6.0 | 84 | 61 | 120+ |
| Degrees | 6.5, no band under 6.0 | 88 | 58 | N/A |
| Social Service Worker (SSPG, SSIS) | 6.5, no band under 6.0 | 84 | 61 | 120+ |
What Cambrian does not state
A test validity period, a position on IELTS One Skill Retake and on IELTS Online, and separate scores for health programs are not stated by Cambrian on its English requirements page. Cambrian says it assesses international applications individually and that all general and program requirements, including senior-level English credits, must be met.
Cambrian hosts an IELTS test centre at its Barry Downe campus in partnership with Humber.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Cambrian's English for Academic Purposes route
If your score falls short, Cambrian offers its English for Academic Purposes program. Cambrian says that once you complete it you will be accepted into its diploma or certificate programs; it does not say the same for graduate certificates or degrees.
Study permit and PGWP: separate rules
Cambrian's scores decide admission only. IRCC sets no minimum English score for a study permit; any language condition is written into your letter of acceptance (see IELTS for a Canada study permit). The Post-Graduation Work Permit is a separate test again. IRCC's PGWP eligibility page asks for CLB 7 in all four skills if you graduate with a bachelor's, master's or doctoral degree or from any other university program, and CLB 5 for any other college, polytechnic or non-university program, so a bachelor's degree earned at a college still needs CLB 7. On IELTS General Training, CLB 7 is 6.0 in every skill and CLB 5 is Reading 4.0 and Writing, Listening and Speaking 5.0 (IRCC score table). The PGWP takes IELTS General Training, CELPIP-General or PTE Core, not IELTS Academic, and college programs also face a field-of-study rule if you applied for your study permit on or after 1 November 2024 (see IELTS for the PGWP).
Frequently asked questions
Does Cambrian College accept PTE?+
Yes. PTE Academic 58 for diplomas, certificates and degrees, and 61 for graduate certificates.
Does Cambrian accept Duolingo?+
Yes for diplomas and certificates (105-115) and graduate certificates (120+). Cambrian lists Duolingo as N/A for degrees.
What IELTS do I need for a Cambrian graduate certificate?+
IELTS Academic 6.5 with no band under 6.0.
Which Cambrian diplomas need the higher score?+
Social Service Worker (SSPG) and Social Service Worker – Indigenous Specialization (SSIS) use the graduate certificate minimums: IELTS 6.5 with no band under 6.0.
Does the Cambrian IELTS score count for the PGWP?+
No. The college's score is an admission rule on IELTS Academic. For the PGWP, IRCC asks for CLB 7 in every skill after a bachelor's, master's or doctoral degree (a college degree included) and CLB 5 after other college and polytechnic programs, proved with IELTS General Training, CELPIP-General or PTE Core.
Keep reading
Related
- Canadore College IELTS requirement
- Humber College IELTS requirement
- IELTS for Canada
- Free IELTS mock test with AI band score
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 6 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy