University English requirements

What IELTS score do you need for Florida International University?

Florida International University asks graduate applicants for IELTS 6.5, TOEFL iBT 4.5 (80 for tests before 21 January 2026), Duolingo 110 or PTE Academic 53. International first-year undergraduates do not need TOEFL or IELTS at all; FIU uses SAT or ACT section scores instead. India is not on FIU's list of English proficiency exempt countries.
  • Checked against official sources · 6 October 2026
  • 4 sections
  • IELTS

FIU English requirements at a glance

Sources: International Admissions' graduate English-language requirements, freshman application process and transfer application process, plus the Graduate Admissions FAQ. Section minimums are not stated by FIU.

LevelIELTS AcademicTOEFL iBTDuolingoPTE Academic
Graduate (university minimum)6.54.5 (old scale 80)11053
Undergraduate transfer, 60+ credits6.54.5 (old scale 80)110Not listed
First-year undergraduateNot required (SAT or ACT used)Not required (SAT or ACT used)Not requiredNot required

Graduate: IELTS 6.5 or PTE 53

Applicants from non-English-speaking countries, including internationally educated Americans, must show proficiency, as must anyone whose undergraduate institution did not teach in English, even inside the US. FIU accepts TOEFL iBT or PBT (4.5 from 21 January 2026, 80 on the iBT before), IELTS 6.5, Duolingo 110, PTE Academic 53, Cambridge English Advanced (score not stated by FIU) or completion of all areas at level six of FIU's English Language Institute. Scores must come directly from the testing agency.

Citizens of FIU's exempt countries, such as Australia, Canada (except Quebec), Ghana, Kenya, Nigeria, the Philippines, Singapore and the UK, do not need a test; India is not on the list. FIU's graduate FAQ says TOEFL scores expire after two years; validity for other tests is not stated. See the graduate English page.

Know your target? Check where you stand

Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.

Take a free scored IELTS mock →

Undergraduate: SAT or ACT for first-years

For direct admission, international first-time-in-college students are not required to submit TOEFL or IELTS. Instead, they must meet Florida Board of Governors college-readiness standards, largely set by SAT or ACT reading and English sub-scores, and every freshman applicant submits an SAT, ACT or CLT score. See the freshman page.

Transfer students with 60 or more credits can use TOEFL 4.5 (80), IELTS 6.5, Duolingo 110, ENC 1101 with a C or better, FIU English Language Institute level six, or a degree from an English-speaking country; those with fewer credits meet the Board of Governors rules. PTE is not on the transfer list. See the transfer page.

Student visa and next steps

The US F-1 student visa sets no English test score of its own. What counts is the requirement FIU sets for admission, which leads to your Form I-20. For the wider picture of studying in the US with each test, see IELTS for the USA and PTE for the USA.

Requirements change between admission cycles. Check the FIU graduate English-language requirements page again before you book a test, and check your own program page, which can set a higher bar.

Frequently asked questions

What IELTS score do I need for an MS at FIU?+

IELTS 6.5 overall. FIU does not state band minimums, and individual graduate programs may set their own requirements.

Does FIU accept PTE?+

Yes for graduate admission, with a minimum PTE Academic score of 53. PTE is not on the list for transfer undergraduates.

Do Indian students need IELTS for FIU?+

Usually, yes, for graduate study. India is not on FIU's list of English proficiency exempt countries.

Do international freshmen need IELTS for FIU?+

No. FIU says international first-time-in-college students are not required to submit TOEFL or IELTS; it uses SAT or ACT section scores to judge college readiness.

What TOEFL score does FIU need on the new scale?+

4.5 for tests from 21 January 2026, or 80 on the iBT for tests taken before that date.

Keep reading

Related

Verified against the linked official sources on 6 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.

© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy

Take a free scored IELTS mock