George Washington University English requirements at a glance
Sources: Graduate Admissions' international requirements, SEAS's international admissions page and exempt countries, Columbian College's international graduate applicants page and Undergraduate Admissions' international applicants page. Graduate scores may not be more than two years old.
| Level | IELTS Academic | TOEFL iBT | Duolingo | PTE Academic |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Graduate (university baseline) | 6.5 | 81; new-scale score not stated | Not listed | 53 |
| Graduate, School of Engineering and Applied Science | 6.0 (7.0 to skip EAP) | 4.0 or old 81 (5.0 or old 100 to skip EAP) | 115 (130 to skip EAP) | 58 |
| Graduate, Columbian College (with EAP course) | 6.0 (no band below 5.0) | 4 (old scale 81) | 110 | 58 |
| Graduate, Columbian College (no EAP course) | 7.0 (no band below 6.0) | 5 (old scale 100) | 130 | 68 |
| Undergraduate first-year | 6.5 (7.5 to waive EAP) | 4.5 or old 90 (5 or old 100 to waive EAP) | 120 (130 to waive EAP) | 61 |
Graduate: IELTS 6.5 baseline, 6.0 at SEAS
GW says minimums may change and some schools set higher ones. At SEAS, scores below TOEFL 5.0 (100 on the old scale), IELTS 7.0 or Duolingo 130 mean a first-semester English for Academic Purposes (EAP) course, whose credits do not count toward your degree. SEAS does not accept TOEFL MyBest or IELTS One Skill Retake. Columbian College runs two tiers, the lower one with a required EAP course, and does not accept TOEFL MyBestScore or IELTS Indicator. Conditional admission is not stated.
Graduate Admissions may waive the requirement for a degree from an institution in a country where English is the sole language of instruction. SEAS exempts degrees from the US or listed countries such as Australia, Canada (except Québec), Ghana, Ireland, Kenya, New Zealand, Nigeria, Singapore, South Africa and the UK, or a combined bachelor's with two years there. India is not on the SEAS list. See TOEFL-exempt countries.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Undergraduate: IELTS 6.5 or PTE 61
First-year applicants need TOEFL 90 (before 26 January 2026) or 4.5 on the new TOEFL, IELTS 6.5, PTE Academic 61 or Duolingo 120. EAP may be waived with TOEFL 100 or 5, IELTS 7.5 or Duolingo 130. The requirement itself may be waived with SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing 650, ACT English 29, or your most recent four years of secondary school taught mainly in English. See international applicants.
Student visa and next steps
The US F-1 student visa sets no English test score of its own. What counts is the requirement GW sets for admission, which leads to your Form I-20. For the wider picture of studying in the US with each test, see IELTS for the USA and PTE for the USA.
Requirements change between admission cycles. Check the GW graduate international student requirements page again before you book a test, and check your own program page, which can set a higher bar.
Frequently asked questions
What IELTS score do I need for an MS at George Washington University?+
IELTS 6.5 is the graduate admissions baseline. SEAS accepts IELTS 6.0, and Columbian College accepts 6.0 with an EAP course or 7.0 without one.
What IELTS score does GW Engineering (SEAS) need?+
IELTS 6.0 overall. Below IELTS 7.0 you must complete an English for Academic Purposes course in your first semester.
Does GW accept Duolingo and PTE?+
SEAS accepts Duolingo 115 or PTE 58, and Columbian College accepts Duolingo 110 or PTE 58. The graduate admissions baseline page lists PTE 53 and does not list Duolingo.
Are Indian students exempt from IELTS at GW?+
Not by SEAS's list: India is not on its TOEFL-exempt countries. GW's general waiver covers degrees from countries where English is the sole language of instruction.
How old can my scores be for GW?+
English language test scores may not be more than two years old for graduate admission.
Keep reading
Related
- IELTS for the USA
- TOEFL to IELTS converter
- American University IELTS requirement
- George Mason IELTS requirement
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy