GCU's accepted tests at the minimum level
From GCU's English language requirements page, which says the score for each course is on its course page. Nationals of a majority English-speaking country who were educated there in English may not need to provide evidence. Duolingo, IELTS Online and IELTS One Skill Retake do not appear on GCU's list of accepted qualifications.
| Test | GCU minimum |
|---|---|
| IELTS Academic or IELTS for UKVI | 6.0, no single element below 5.5 |
| Pearson PTE Academic, Academic UKVI or Online | 59, each sub-score at least 59 |
| TOEFL iBT or Home Edition (tests from 21 January 2026) | 4, no single element below 4 |
| LanguageCert Academic (in person or online) | 65, no element below 60 |
| Oxford ELLT | 6, no element below 5 |
GCU IELTS on course pages
These course pages were read on 8 October 2026. The Computing BSc page showed no IELTS score when read. GCU's pre-registration nursing master's has very limited places for students from outside the UK and Ireland, and shortlisted applicants are interviewed; it also accepts the OET at 350 in reading, listening and speaking.
| Course | Level | IELTS |
|---|---|---|
| Business Management BA | Undergraduate | 6.0, no element below 5.5 |
| Big Data Technologies MSc | Postgraduate | 6.0, no element below 5.5 |
| International Business Management MSc | Postgraduate | 6.0, no element below 5.5 |
| Nursing Studies Adult (Pre-Registration) MSc | Postgraduate | 7.0; reading, listening and speaking 7.0, writing 6.5 |
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Indian, Nigerian and other South Asian applicants
GCU's country pages say students joining a course with a higher English requirement must provide a SELT. The India page accepts Class XII English only for programmes needing IELTS 6.0 (5.5), and the Nigeria page accepts WAEC and NECO for 6.0 (5.5) and 6.5 (6.0) programmes. GCU says medium of instruction letters, once accepted from certain countries, no longer are.
The Pakistan page warns that Bell College/Bell Agency in Jhelum is not an authorised GCU partner and that applications through it will not be accepted. The Bangladesh page says Bangladeshi school leavers generally need a foundation programme before an undergraduate degree.
| Country | GCU rule |
|---|---|
| India | Class XII English 70%, CBSE or CISCE only, not state boards or NIOS; IELTS 6.0 (5.5) programmes only |
| Nigeria | WAEC or NECO English C6, for IELTS 6.0 (5.5) and 6.5 (6.0) programmes |
| Pakistan, Nepal, Bangladesh | No school-English route listed; an accepted test is needed |
CAS, pre-sessional English and the Student visa
GCU's CAS page says the visa team contacts you about your CAS once you have accepted an unconditional offer and paid your initial deposit; the deposit amount is not stated on the pages read. GCU's credibility interview page covers Home Office interviews, and a GCU pre-CAS interview is not stated. GCU accepts the British Council and University of Strathclyde pre-sessional run overseas at 6.0 (5.5); a pre-sessional run by GCU is not stated.
For a Student visa, UK Visas and Immigration asks for English at CEFR B2 for degree-level study and B1 below degree level, per gov.uk. At degree level, gov.uk adds, your university can assess your English itself and may ask you to take a different test.
Requirements vary by programme and change between admissions cycles. The score that binds you is the one on your GCU programme page and in your offer letter, so check it there before you book a test.
Frequently asked questions
Does Glasgow Caledonian University accept PTE?+
Yes. GCU lists PTE Academic, PTE Academic UKVI and the online PTE at 59 overall, with each sub-score at least 59.
Does GCU accept Duolingo?+
Duolingo does not appear on GCU's list of accepted English language qualifications.
Does GCU accept an MOI letter?+
No. GCU says medium of instruction letters are not accepted as evidence of English, although they were previously accepted from certain countries.
Can Indian students study at GCU without IELTS?+
Yes, for programmes needing IELTS 6.0 (5.5), with 70% in Class XII English from CBSE or CISCE. State board and NIOS certificates are not accepted.
What IELTS do I need for a master's at GCU?+
Usually 6.0 with no element below 5.5, as on Big Data Technologies MSc and International Business Management MSc. Pre-registration nursing needs 7.0.
Keep reading
Related
- University of Glasgow IELTS requirement
- University of Strathclyde IELTS requirement
- IELTS for UKVI vs IELTS Academic
- Free IELTS mock test with AI band score
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 8 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy