Professional registration

What IELTS score do accountants need for an Australian skills assessment?

All three accounting assessing authorities ask for IELTS Academic 7.0 in listening, reading, writing and speaking, or PTE Academic 58 / 59 / 69 / 76 for tests from 7 August 2025. That is the same as Home Affairs Proficient English. CPA Australia and the IPA exempt UK, Irish, US, Canadian and New Zealand passport holders, and CPA Australia also accepts the Accounting Professional Year.
  • Checked against official sources · 6 October 2026
  • 3 sections
  • IELTS

IELTS and PTE minimums at each body

Sources, read 6 October 2026: CPA Australia English language proficiency, CA ANZ English language requirement and the IPA qualification assessments page. PTE scores are listening / reading / writing / speaking.

RuleCPA AustraliaCA ANZIPA
IELTSAcademic only, 7.0 in each skillAcademic, 7.0 in each skillAcademic, 7 in each skill
PTE Academic, tests from 7 August 202558 / 59 / 69 / 7658 / 59 / 69 / 7658 / 59 / 69 / 76
PTE Academic, tests on or before 6 August 202565 in each skill65 in each skillOn a separate IPA page
IELTS One Skill RetakeAccepted (may not be for some visas)AcceptedAccepted since May 2023, with the original test report
Result age3 years from test date, still valid when the outcome is issuedWithin 3 years before you applyTaken within the past three years
At-home or online testsNot acceptedSecure test centre onlyNot stated by IPA
Passport exemptionCanada, New Zealand, Ireland, UK, USACanada, New Zealand, Ireland, UK, USACanada, New Zealand, Ireland, UK, USA
Other way to meet itAccounting Professional Year ProgramAccounting Professional Year ProgramNot stated by IPA

Other tests accepted (tests from 7 August 2025)

CPA Australia and the IPA list the same minimums for the other tests: TOEFL iBT 22 / 22 / 26 / 24, Cambridge C1 Advanced 175 / 179 / 193 / 194, LanguageCert Academic 67 / 71 / 78 / 82, CELPIP General 9 / 8 / 10 / 8 and the Michigan English Test 61 / 63 / 74 / 59. Both reject TOEFL iBT tests taken between 26 July 2023 and early May 2024 (to 5 May 2024 at CPA Australia, 4 May 2024 at the IPA), when TOEFL was not an approved test.

These are exactly the Proficient English scores on the Home Affairs Proficient English page, which is worth 10 points on the 189 points table. Our 189, 190 and 491 guide has the full Competent, Proficient and Superior tables.

Know your target? Check where you stand

Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.

Take a free scored IELTS mock →

Academic, not General Training

CPA Australia says "Only the Academic IELTS test is acceptable for qualification assessments", and CA ANZ and the IPA list IELTS Academic. That differs from the visa, where Home Affairs accepts both modules. If you plan to sit one IELTS for both the skills assessment and the visa, take Academic. Our Academic vs General Training guide explains the differences in the reading and writing papers.

Seven in every skill is a high bar, and writing is where most candidates fall short. BandLadder's free mock test scores each skill separately, so you can see which one is holding you below 7.0 before you pay for the real exam.

Rules change, sometimes at short notice. Confirm the current requirement on the CPA Australia English language proficiency page before you book a test or apply. This guide restates that page as read on 6 October 2026; it is not migration advice.

Frequently asked questions

What IELTS score does CPA Australia need for migration?+

IELTS Academic 7.0 in each of listening, reading, writing and speaking. General Training is not accepted for the qualification assessment.

Does CA ANZ accept PTE?+

Yes. For tests from 7 August 2025, CA ANZ lists PTE Academic 58 listening, 59 reading, 69 writing and 76 speaking; for earlier tests, 65 in each.

Do accountants with a UK passport need IELTS for the skills assessment?+

CPA Australia, CA ANZ and the IPA all exempt citizens holding passports from Canada, New Zealand, Ireland, the UK and the USA.

How long is my IELTS valid for an accounting skills assessment?+

Three years. CPA Australia requires the result to still be within three years of the test date when the outcome is issued.

Is IELTS 7 each the same as Proficient English?+

Yes. Home Affairs Proficient English is 7 in each skill on IELTS, and it earns 10 points on the 189 points table.

Keep reading

Related

Verified against the linked official sources on 6 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.

© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy

Take a free scored IELTS mock