Lambton English test minimums
Scores are from Lambton's language requirements page. Lambton's diploma floor is unusual: no IELTS band may fall below 6.0, the same floor as its graduate certificates. TOEFL iBT is 78 (no skill below 18) or 4.0 (none below 4.0) for diplomas and certificates, and 88 (none below 18) or 4.5 (none below 4.0) for graduate certificates.
Other options: CAEL 60 (no band below 50) or 70 (no band below 60), CELPIP 7 or 8, Oxford ELLT 6 or 7, and 70 overall in the Lambton Institute of English. Separate minimums for degree programs are not stated by Lambton on this page.
| Level | IELTS Academic | TOEFL iBT | PTE Academic | Duolingo |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Diploma and certificate programs | 6.0, no band below 6.0 | 78 (none below 18) or 4.0 (none below 4.0) | 60, no band below 60 | 105, no band below 85 |
| Graduate certificate programs | 6.5, no band below 6.0 | 88 (none below 18) or 4.5 (none below 4.0) | 60, no band below 60 | 115, no band below 95 |
In-person tests, One Skill Retake and validity
Lambton writes that applicants must submit proof "through one of the following in-person test methods", yet the same list includes the Duolingo English Test. Whether IELTS Online is accepted is not stated by Lambton, so book a test-centre IELTS to be safe. For IELTS at both levels Lambton writes "One skill retake is acceptable".
A test validity period is not stated by Lambton. Meeting the minimum does not guarantee admission: Lambton weighs English scores, academic history, experience and program demand, and can ask any applicant for a test.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →Exemptions and Lambton's English pathways
Applicants from listed countries may qualify for an exemption; the list includes the UK, the USA, Nigeria, Ghana, Kenya, the Philippines and Singapore, but not India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Nepal or Sri Lanka. Below the minimum, Lambton points to partner routes: Connecting International Education, ILSC's University Pathway (level A1), Immiland (Advanced level) and Oxford International's Pre-Sessional English.
Study permit and PGWP: separate rules
Lambton's scores decide admission only. IRCC sets no minimum English score for a study permit; any language condition is written into your letter of acceptance (see IELTS for a Canada study permit). The Post-Graduation Work Permit is a separate test again. IRCC's PGWP eligibility page asks for CLB 7 in all four skills if you graduate with a bachelor's, master's or doctoral degree or from any other university program, and CLB 5 for any other college, polytechnic or non-university program, so a bachelor's degree earned at a college still needs CLB 7. On IELTS General Training, CLB 7 is 6.0 in every skill and CLB 5 is Reading 4.0 and Writing, Listening and Speaking 5.0 (IRCC score table). The PGWP takes IELTS General Training, CELPIP-General or PTE Core, not IELTS Academic, and college programs also face a field-of-study rule if you applied for your study permit on or after 1 November 2024 (see IELTS for the PGWP).
Frequently asked questions
Does Lambton College accept PTE?+
Yes. PTE Academic 60 with no band below 60, for both diploma and graduate certificate programs.
Does Lambton accept Duolingo?+
Yes: 105 with no band below 85 for diplomas and certificates, and 115 with no band below 95 for graduate certificates.
Is IELTS 6.0 with one band of 5.5 enough for Lambton?+
No. Lambton's diploma requirement is 6.0 overall with no band below 6.0, so a 5.5 in any band misses it.
Does Lambton accept IELTS One Skill Retake?+
Yes. Lambton's table says one skill retake is acceptable for both diplomas and graduate certificates.
Does the Lambton IELTS score count for the PGWP?+
No. The college's score is an admission rule on IELTS Academic. For the PGWP, IRCC asks for CLB 7 in every skill after a bachelor's, master's or doctoral degree (a college degree included) and CLB 5 after other college and polytechnic programs, proved with IELTS General Training, CELPIP-General or PTE Core.
Keep reading
Related
- St. Clair College IELTS requirement
- IELTS One Skill Retake explained
- IELTS for Canada
- IELTS for the Canada PGWP
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 6 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy