St. Clair English test minimums
Scores are from St. Clair's international admission policies page. For diplomas and graduate certificates St. Clair gives IELTS Academic as an overall band of 6.0 only; a band minimum is not stated. TOEFL iBT is 60 overall for that level and 91 with 22 in each skill for degrees and special diplomas; a score on the new 1–6 TOEFL scale is not stated by St. Clair.
St. Clair is one of the few colleges here that lists IELTS General Training: 6.5 with no score below 6.0 for degrees and special diplomas, and "no single test score below 6.0" for diplomas and graduate certificates. CAEL is 60 or 70 and CELPIP General 7.0 or 8.0 in each module.
| Level | IELTS Academic | TOEFL iBT | PTE Academic | Duolingo |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Diplomas and graduate certificates | 6.0 overall | 60 | 52 | 110 |
| Degrees and special diplomas, e.g. Practical Nursing | 6.5, no score below 6.0 | 91 (22 each) | 70 | 120 |
| Pharmacy Technician | 7.0; all bands 7.0 except Writing 6.5 | 91 (22 each) | 70 | 120 |
Validity and exemptions
Proficiency tests must have been taken within the two years before the date you submit your application. A position on IELTS One Skill Retake and on IELTS Online is not stated by St. Clair.
Applicants from listed English-speaking countries, or who graduated in one within the last two years, are exempt if the English course on their transcript meets St. Clair's standard. India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Nepal and Sri Lanka are not on that list.
Know your target? Check where you stand
Take a free AI-scored IELTS mock and see your score per skill before you book the real test. Free account, no card.
Take a free scored IELTS mock →EAP pathways and how St. Clair fills seats
Below the minimum, St. Clair's EAP counts at 70% of Level 8 for diplomas and graduate certificates and 80% for degrees and special diplomas, as do listed partner schools such as ILAC (University Pathway 3.2 or 3.3). International seats are first come, first served: after your letter of acceptance you pay the confirmation fee, and your seat is secured only when you upload your study permit approval.
Study permit and PGWP: separate rules
St. Clair's scores decide admission only. IRCC sets no minimum English score for a study permit; any language condition is written into your letter of acceptance (see IELTS for a Canada study permit). The Post-Graduation Work Permit is a separate test again. IRCC's PGWP eligibility page asks for CLB 7 in all four skills if you graduate with a bachelor's, master's or doctoral degree or from any other university program, and CLB 5 for any other college, polytechnic or non-university program, so a bachelor's degree earned at a college still needs CLB 7. On IELTS General Training, CLB 7 is 6.0 in every skill and CLB 5 is Reading 4.0 and Writing, Listening and Speaking 5.0 (IRCC score table). The PGWP takes IELTS General Training, CELPIP-General or PTE Core, not IELTS Academic, and college programs also face a field-of-study rule if you applied for your study permit on or after 1 November 2024 (see IELTS for the PGWP).
Frequently asked questions
Does St. Clair College accept PTE?+
Yes. PTE Academic 52 for diplomas and graduate certificates, and 70 for degrees and special diplomas such as Practical Nursing and Pharmacy Technician.
Does St. Clair accept Duolingo?+
Yes: 110 for diplomas and graduate certificates, and 120 for degrees and special diplomas.
Does St. Clair accept IELTS General Training?+
Yes, St. Clair lists it: 6.5 with no score below 6.0 for degrees and special diplomas, and no single score below 6.0 for diplomas and graduate certificates.
What IELTS does St. Clair Practical Nursing require?+
IELTS Academic 6.5 with no single score below 6.0.
Does the St. Clair IELTS score count for the PGWP?+
No. The college's score is an admission rule on IELTS Academic. For the PGWP, IRCC asks for CLB 7 in every skill after a bachelor's, master's or doctoral degree (a college degree included) and CLB 5 after other college and polytechnic programs, proved with IELTS General Training, CELPIP-General or PTE Core.
Keep reading
Related
- Lambton College IELTS requirement
- IELTS Academic vs General Training
- IELTS for Canada
- IELTS for a Canada study permit
- All 711 guides
Verified against the linked official sources on 6 October 2026. Rules change: confirm on the official page before you book or apply.
© 2026 BandLadder. Written and checked by the BandLadder team. You may quote or cite this page with credit to BandLadder and a link to it; republishing it in full needs our written permission. Content use policy